Have you heard of Keto before?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I would love to share my experience with eating a keto diet with the Steemit community!

Actually, it feels like a lifetime ago when I started eating a Keto diet. Only that it was only yesterday and I am already missing some of these fabolous treats I love to treat myself with (so much for the etymology of the word „treat“ – going both ways).

Ok, let’s stop talking about treats for now. Eating Keto is some serious stuff. For those who do not know what I am talking about, here is a quick rundown:

  • Keto comes from the word ketogenic, which means „forming or able to stimulate the production of ketone bodies“ – this does not mean that we are toning our bodies, it simply means that ketone stuff is being produced in our body.

  • Ketones are produced when fat gets broken down in the liver as a result of the „starvation“ from carbs.

-Usually, the body is fuelling on carbs (glucose), but in order to burn the maximum amount of fat (or as some articles call it: to make the body a fat-burning-machine) the goal is to minimize the intake of carbohydrates to reach ketosis and burn fat.

  • Keto can also be described as a LCHF (low carb, high fat) diet that in addition is restricted on protein. Basically eating lots of fat in order to burn even more fat. Makes sense.

There you go – sounds like serious stuff, doesn’t it?

Anyhow, if you like to find out more about how Keto really works, there are TONS of websites and blogs out there helping you to learn more about the topic and all its benefits (e.g. less appetite, reversed diabetes, less heartburn, better concentration, etc).

If you are too lazy, I am happy to send you some links that I use for browsing through recipes and such.

The reason I am writing about my Keto experiment is simple: I want to have a place where I can store my favorite recipes and share my results. Maybe I even inspire you to join me on the Keto journey and to become a more healthy and concious eater (how awesome would that be :D )

So, please stay tuned on those recipes to come (I already tried out a few, and the are DE-LI-CIOUS!

See you soon Steemian peeps!

Sort:  

Unfortunatly my upvote wont't count after 7days so dont be dissapointed next time I'm sure you will get more upvotes!!!

Great post @lick-a-tree I never heard of Keto before it sounds very interesting. I'm looking forward to your next inspiring post!!!

Congratulations @lick-a-tree! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Zumindest bekommst du jetzt schon einmal einen Kommentar von mir.
Ernährungsthemen intessieren mich auch.
Vielleicht bringst du den Artikel nochmal auf Deutsch.
Aber zuerst solltest du mal den "introducemyself" schreiben.

This post has received a 23.2 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @supastix

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Keto is also new to me. So I made a little research on this topic and I found the following website https://foodpunk.de/was-ist-der-unterschied-zwischen-paleo-low-carb-und-keto/
They explain the difference between Keto, low-carb and Paelo quite clearly. I would be very interested in Keto recipes, maybe you could help me out. Thank you very much and have a pleasant sunday. I follow you and resteem your article. Liebe Grüße

Great blog would lovd to hear more on yourjourney and does anybody knows if theres any steemit pages on keto recipes?
I love keto the first week is rough but when it kicks in you feel so good , i have lost 60 lbs in 5 months and find ghd keto lifestyle to be sustainable unlike many other eating styles