You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What if Whole World Went Vegetarian? Wait! Is it even Possible?

in #food7 years ago

There is no anti-matter straw man here. The system as we have it is atrocious, pig farms can be the very worst examples of this. Creating a new system that is equally unworkable is not an answer. The problems seem to stem from the economics and scalability of production animal farming within the environment of the regulatory capture revolving door between regulatory agencies and industry. This, I don't think can be fixed by getting rid of healthy animal products. If we are suggesting getting rid of poisonous animal products then let's do it.

The meat studies that are usually referenced never make a distinction between animals fed their proper diet, and animals fed pesticide laden grains and hormones and antibiotics. Do I think that people who eat poisonously raised animal products will die younger than they would if they avoided poison? Yes, I do. The difference between grass fed and grain fed lies in the omega-6 to omega-3 ratio, as well as the many contaminants that come from feeding industrially raised grain to animals that need grass to be healthy. I haven't found many benefits to consumption of grain by cattle or humans, except they are yummy.

Thoughts?

Sort:  

That's a very interesting point you raise about the health benefits/dangers of industrial meat vs healthy animal products. No doubt your point is valid.

There are cows all around the area where I live. When you observe them when they are young, they are playful and energetic. They have a pecking order, and clear emotional attachments to each other. Perhaps friendships would be a stretch, but they have preferences.

It's been obvious to me for a long time that my vegetarianism will never be the norm. Sadly, I don't see expensive healthy meat becoming the norm either. The environmental impact of industrial meat is, from my perspective, a problem.

But I'm not a crusader, for me it is more a personal ethical decision. I sincerely hope you are able to get more folks to switch to healthy humanely raised meat.