The LuLu Lifestyle: Thai coconut soup

in #food7 years ago (edited)

When I was in Thailand The Brit wanted to eat weird things, including bugs. Luckily, this Thai soup tasted better than this giant cricket (the little ones weren't bad).

IMG_0164.JPG

I don't eat Thai very often. I'm offended that I have to pay extra for rice in Thai restaurants lol. But I've had this soup in the past and decided it would be something different for The Brit. So I made it tonight for dinner.

I found the recipe scrolling thru allrecipes.com. It's my go to place for new food ideas. Of course, I had to put my own spin on things. Since I've always had this soup with chicken, I used that instead of shrimp, which the recipe called for.

The recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/146035/the-best-thai-coconut-soup/

IMG_0154.JPG

I've had the hardest time finding chicken stock but the boullion cubes I found were a decent replacement.

IMG_0155.JPG

IMG_0158.JPG

After everything finished cooking I put in a bag of spinach to add some nutritional value to our meal. The entire bag cooks down rather quickly.

IMG_0159.JPG

IMG_0160.JPG

Since I used chicken thighs I had skin that I had cut off. I didn't want it to go to waste so I added some salt and pepper and baked them in the oven to use as a delicious crispy topper for our soup.

IMG_0161.JPG

The final product was fantastic! It was so good that The Brit had seconds. It looks like it would be a heavy soup but I could have eaten more also (but trying not to be a glutton as I think about the ice cream in the freezer). This soup will be made often. I served it over rice this time. I think next time I will put some potatoes in the soup.

IMG_0163.JPG

Heading to the market tomorrow. I'm thinking about making Vietnamese spring rolls unless something else catches my eyes at the market.

Sort:  

Hi, lulumann! I just resteemed your post!
I can also re-steem and upvote some of your other posts


Curious? Check out @resteembot's' introduction post
PS: If your reputation is lower than 30 re-blogging with @resteembot only costs 0.001 SBD