Honey Almond Prawns

in #food7 years ago

After fighting the man-flu for the majority of this week, I'm happily back behind a laptop looking through some old recipes that I'd love to share.

It also really comes in handy having a friend who has a good camera, and also knows how to use it! I used to host dinners for my mates where I'd whip up a 3 course meal for 15 odd people. I'd cook, and he would take some photos here and there, so it was a win-win for me in the case of sharing this recipe!

Its quick, easy and can be whipped up in no time. I usually serve this up as an entrée, on a bed of rice with a tangy honey salad I made up (ill have this salad in a future blog). I hope you all like the look of it and give it a go!

IMG_4378.JPG

INGREDIENTS:
Fresh Tiger prawns (2-3 per person)
Olive oil
1/2 lemon
2 teaspoons of honey
almond meal
parsley
thickened cooking cream
salt
pepper

METHOD

  1. Peel prawns leaving just the tail and slice half way through the prawn down the entire length, and de-vain. Season prawns and set aside.
  2. Place the honey into a cup and microwave for 10-15 seconds, and finely chop parsley.
  3. Into a mortar and pestle, squeeze in half a lemon, olive oil, 2 tablespoons of almond meal, honey, and season with salt and pepper. Use the mortar and pestle to grind it to a pesto consistency.
  4. Marinate the fresh prawns with the pesto-like mixture and set aside in the fridge for 30 minutes.
  5. Place pan on a high heat with a small amount of olive oil, and wait till the pan is adequately heated. Cook the prawns for 2-3 minutes, be sure to not overcook them! Also, be careful to not burn the contents as a result of the honey in the mixture, so be mindful of that.
  6. Once the prawns are 20 seconds away from finishing, squeeze in the juice from half a lemon, and then add in 3-4 tablespoons of the thickened cream. Toss these ingredients in the pan quickly ready for serving.
    IMG_4377.JPG

Please don't forget to up-vote! :-)