Jamaican Cow Foot And BEans With Rice And Peas

in #food6 years ago

17015793_622356737954811_4212766665988175038_o.jpg

I have been craving some cow foot and beans for the past week. And today I decided that I will not wait any longer to feed my craving. This is a Caribbean dish that is mostly prepared in Jamaica and Trinidad. It takes a few hours to prepare.

First, you have to wash the cow foot with vinegar and then boil it for a few minutes. After you will drain and then season. It is best to prepare this meat in a pressure cooker because it is what we Jamaicans would say is tough! If your pressure cooker is working well then this meal can be prepared in two hours.

For the rice and peas, this is made from red kidney beans, coconut milk, salt, scallion, thyme, butter and rice. The preparation varies from household to household. I must say this is a very filling and tasty meal.

Happy Steeming!

Sort:  

I'm not Jamaican if you could guess, but I'm super down with exploring new foods and I need to know what's up with texture in regards to the foot?

In my mind I kind of just figured it was like bone, but that's the hoof I suppose. You're talking the foot that lies within our what? Curious. I want to try it.

I think it may be called the hoof in other countries. The texture is gummy when fully cooked.