Coming Up With Recipes & Sourcing The Cheese! [The Grilled Cheese: Part 2] πŸ§€

in #food β€’ 7 years ago


On my journey to becoming the owner of The Grilled Cheese, a food truck that is certain to take Cape Town by storm this coming season, I need to come up with recipes!


I also need to find some fabulously cheesy cheeses, to suit
the various sandwiches on the menu. :D


So today, I took some time to do just that!



Hampy Camper As I Get The Stringy Cheese I Was Looking For!


To find the right cheeses I headed out to the nearest spot that had freshly made, South African cheeses, that are GMO free, organic and free range.


I want my cheese sandwiches to be the best in town, so having great cheeses is essential. Lucky for me there is a place nearby my house that sells the most fab cheeses in town!





After staring into the cheese fridge for hours I finally picked out all my cheese and various other goodies that enticed me.


I then grabbed a few more things... and checked out.

Now it was time to head home and sort out the menu. I will tell you a secret. The best cheese sandwiches start with two different kinds of cheese and some sourdough bread!



After jotting down some recipes it was time to get started...


Then it was time to get cooking. I like to keep my grill hot and then butter the
outside of the sourdough for a nice buttery grill.


Here are the two I tried tonight with the recipes so you can follow along..
I know you want too!.






These two came out fantastic. What is your favorite grilled cheese sandwich recipe?




So if you still don't know me by now...

I am that spunky young chick from Cape Town that ...

Started #womenofsteemit and is currently giving away over 150 SD over the next 3 weeks!
https://steemit.com/womenofsteemit/@melkay/introducing-womenofsteemit-a-steemit-orginal-series-tag-and-movement-rolled-into-one-competition-time

Seems to have a Steem Power addiction problem. . .
https://steemit.com/steem/@melkay/tonight-i-exchanged-all-my-sh-t-coins-for-steem-power-and-i-will-explain-how-and-why

...Drinks tons of wine...
https://steemit.com/travel/@melkay/cape-town-spotlight-bon-courage-wine-estate

...And am busy building The Grilled Cheese,
a food truck to achieve my dreams and quit my day job...

https://steemit.com/life/@melkay/i-just-bought-a-1972-vw-camper-van-and-am-turning-it-into-a-food-truck-the-grilled-cheese-part-one

...I also like to tease the whales, cos we have fun, don't we?...
https://steemit.com/steemit/@melkay/a-steemit-guide-to-papa-pepper-and-how-to-achieve-the-mysterious-whale-aura

So follow if you haven't. Upvote if you got em.. ;)



Sort: Β 

Omg I want a grilled cheese so bad right now! lol and great blog you have going by the way. I saw you left a comment on my blog so checked out your blog and like all the original content so gave you a follow. Best wishes on the blog and the truck!

Thank you so much steemitadventure. I am sure we will bump into each other on the chat sometime, and I look forward to when that time comes. Have a great day! Make yourself a grilled cheese! Your soul deserves it.

Nice post !! will follow for sure ! STEEM ON!

Thanks, Chrizbiz. Keep it cheesy!

This looks amazing!
I love Grilled Cheese Pasta sandwiches! Have you tried one?

I'm usually not a 'carb on carb' type girl but I believe in trying anything at least once :D

Haha yea!
But I always grab those for my breakfast!

That sandwich looks really tasty.

Thank you so much. It was. And I hope my future customers enjoy them. =)

This post received a 0.7% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @melkay! For more information, click here!

2 sisters just opened a grill cheese restaurant by my house. Wow! Im hooked.
Thanks for sharing and happy steeming. :)

Wow, that is so cool! Where do you live strands?

It really is. An entire board of grill cheeses !
Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Oh awesome. you must send me the name so I can take a look at their menu and other things on their social to see if I can get some ideas. =)

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Not much for a website but i could snap a pic of the menu board next time im there if youd like.

That would be great! Otherwise, this should be cool. I will suss them out on social media. Thanks again.

Your more than welcome.
Happy grilling and stay cheesy :)

Okay you warned me not to look...but I did. That looks sooooo good! I've followed but scared what this will do to my already expanding waistline. Need one of those grilled cheese sandwiches!

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

HEHEH! Thanks for the follow. I will try not post pics of grilled cheese sarmi's every day thinknzombie. . . For you and for all those expanding waistlines out there! =P

I saw chorizo in your notebook. Please take all of my money. #sold

YES!!! HAHAH. I made some slow cooked bacon jam last night. Trying to nail the recipe of that as well. :D You ever had slow cooked bacon jam before?

I have! I bought a jar for my brother for Christmas one year and ended up using it more than he did πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‡