Instead of Going Shopping, We Went "Brandless!"

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Like many others this time of year, I resolved to eat better, do better and be better (and to drag my husband along with me). While discussing the challenges of finding healthy, affordable food to my mom, she mentioned a company called "Brandless." She explained how nothing on the web page cost more than $3.00 AND, as a bonus, that for every order you make Brandless will donate a meal to a hungry family. This was exactly what I was looking for. Healthy, all-natural food at an affordable price, to help reach my goal of eating better and, by providing a meal to those in need, also helps reach my goals of doing better and being better.

Excited. I looked around the web page. I placed an order on a Friday, Feb 1, 2018 and received my order the following Tuesday, Feb 6, 2018. This turn around seemed slow and did not meet my expectations for a food delivery service. So, keep in mind if you are ordering to replace things that you are already out of it does take sometime. Also, the package is sent without signature required, so your package will be left at your door. Not the best practice for perishable /food itreams. Aside from the delivery, overall I was satisfied though not inspired by the products and Brandless experience. The food was OK, though nothing you can't find at local stores and some items were less than fresh. The popcorn, for example was rather stale. I also order some of their plant based disposable cutlery, and disposable hot cups with lids. Since they are not made with plastic it helps the environment, which, lets face it, helps us all be better.

All in all, it was a new experience and I'm glad I tried and potentially helped others in the process. That being said I don't expect to be making a purchase through brandless again. The lack of prompt and carefull shipping, as well as the freshness of the food will likely keep me from further business . So the search continues. My husband and I will be trying some other delivery services in the future and will likely be posting our experiences with those here as well. I am attaching pictures of my unboxing, so give them a look, and thanks for reading!

20180131_154625.jpg

20180131_154857.jpg

20180131_155316.jpg

20180131_155016.jpg

20180131_155359.jpg

Sort:  

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

Thank you much. You do the same!

Nice work! And welcome to steemit 👍

Thanks! It'sa little over whelming, but I'm trying, lol.

Your post is very nice,it is really attractive and helpful!!!

Thanks a bunch! We're just getting started with steemit and hope to have many more helpful posts.