Another food post, Really?

in #food6 years ago



My last food SOLA post about my kiddos making pancakes got some heat from @bushkill, @beatitudes8, and woodsmith (Sola handle) because I got all caught up in the eating of it I forgot the shooting of it. No pics of the finished product! How could I have been so forgetful and cold and hungry? I have a plan to undo the wrongs of my past seeing that its a new Gregorian year! So @bushkill lets get this thing started!!

Toad in the hole *or Chicken in the basket * or Fried egg in the middle of perfectly grilled sourdough..



Whatever you want to call it, this is a fun breakfast that I enjoy making for my little family! Its really simple to make and you can play with the shapes you cut from the bread to make it fun and silly for the kids! All you need to pull this off is some bread, eggs, and butter.


Get that griddle or skillet warmed up. You can spread the butter on the bread before hand or if it's cold and hard, then just slap it on the warm griddle to get it melted.



Cut whatever shapes out of the middle of the pieces of bread then put the slices into the melted butter that's on the griddle. I say the shapes are for the kiddos, but I like to surprise my wife with a heart in hers! It puts a smile on her face!! I'm all about that smile these days!!😊


Now that the slices of bread are in the butter on the griddle, throw those shaped pieces of bread on there too to get nice and toasted. Crack an egg into the holes in the bread to get the egg cooking. We like our eggs with "goodness"! (the yolk still runny). It takes a bit of a delicate touch to flip these without breaking the yolk...
The eggs and toast are getting happy on the griddle, now would be a great time to add any seasonings to the top. Much like @pappa-pepper, I am a fan of hot peppers so I put cayenne powder on mine. The kiddos like sea salt and fresh ground black pepper on theirs. You're gonna want to lift the edges up a bit to check and see when the bread is toasted to your liking. (Don't forget to check on the shaped pieces of bread)

When the bread is toasted to your liking and the egg in the middle has had some time to cook about halfway through the whites, stick a pat of butter on top of the egg and flip them things over.









At this point you can toss a slab of cheese on top or just wait till the eggs and toast are cooked and you're done! This another one of our go to breakfasts! Its quick, easy, fun, but most of all so tasty! Thanks for stopping by!!

The STEEM Engine

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Eggs in a basket! One of my sons favorites.

Does he cut different shapes in it or is he a "circle guy"?

Circle guy. Did you make the heart one?

I make the heart ones for MA LADY

Looks delicious!! Although coming from England, toad-in-the-hole is something completely different.... sausages cooked in Yorkshire pudding batter and served with gravy....yum!! Will have to try this out with the kiddos!

Let me know how they like them!