Sumptuous key lime pie that is dairy free and egg free! 100% Vegan key lime pie.

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Key lime pie served.PNG

I love cake, there I said it, I love cake. I love banofee I love cheese cake I love all different types of cake. In fact I should really have a major problem with my weight I love cake so much. I also love being Vegan and the two worlds don't always see eye to eye. So many recipes involve, dairy and or eggs which as a Vegan I choose not to eat. So this means that I have to get creative when I want to chow down on some cake. Take key lime pie, how does a dairy free and egg free key lime pie sound, how does a dairy free and egg free key lime pie that tastes better than a dairy version sound? Intrigued? Check out my latest recipe below, its 100% Vegan which of course means its dairy free and egg free.

Ingredients

Base:

300 g Oat biscuits
120 g Walnuts
60 g vegan spread

Topping:

200g of pre-soaked cashews, preferably overnight.
1 can or 400ml of full fat coconut milk.
60g Coconut oil.
3/4 tsp agar agar
4 - 6 Limes
60 ml agave nectar

Method:

  • Add the biscuits and walnuts to your food processor and blend until you reach the consistency below.
    Biscuit base in blender.jpg

  • Melt the Vegan spread in a bowl.

  • Take a large mixing bowl and add the biscuit and walnut crumble, then add the melted spread. Combine well until the biscuit is forming clumps.

  • Take a 10" pie tin (with removable sides) and line the bottom with the biscuit and walnut crumble, pack it down well.
    Base before baking.jpg

  • Bake the base at 180 Deg C for 10 min. ( you don't have to do this, but I find that it gives a nice crunch to the base)

  • Add cashews, coconut milk to blender and blend until smooth.

  • Melt the coconut oil with the agar agar mixed in. (microwave for 1 min, mix well and microwave for 1 more min. Make sure its combined well) add to the blender and blend again.

  • Zest your 4 limes and juice them, this should give you about 1/2 a cup of lime juice and about 2 tbs of zest.

  • Add 3/4 of the juice 1/2 the zest and all of the agave to the blender and blend again. Taste, if you want more sweet add agave 1 tsp at a time, more tart or acidic, you guessed it, lime juice.

  • Pour over the biscuit base.
    Pour topping on to base.jpg

  • Sprinkle the rest of the lime zest on the top and pop in the freezer for about 3 hours.

Top with lime zest.jpg

Serve with a sweet sorbet, in my case I had passion fruit sorbet. You can also top this with coconut whipped cream for an extra layer of delicious.

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?

Upvote and follow resteem.gif

As with all of my recipes I would love to hear how you get on with them. So please comment below and fill me in.

#vegandessertcontest

Sort:  

I never met a cake I didn't like, either. Well, except for fruitcake. ;) This looks absolutely divine! I love fresh lime, especially with coconut!

My type of lady! 😂 fruitcake is the work of the devil. We had the in-laws down for dinner and they were super impressed. I'll be putting up the full dinner menu at some stage which is my decadent lasagna made with white truffle belchme sauce and garlic cheese swirls. Better loosen the belt in advance!!

Looking forward to that lasagna recipe, I have yet to find a really good vegan lasagna.

I'm hoping to upload it today, this silly day job keeps getting in my way of Steemit domination LOL.

I know right! It's the same for me 😂

Ditto! That's been the biggest challenge for me, too! I try to give myself a little grace if life gets a little too busy to do as much on here as I'd like.

Thanks for sharing! interesting and healthy idea for a dessert.

upvoted, resteemed, following :)

Thanks so much, It is really light on your stomach too by comparison to the dairy and egg version. It holds together really well too the agar agar is great stuff for these applications.

That looks so delicious :) I tasted a key lime pai this weekend on a vegan brunch and it ways way to sour. Did not like it. :D

With this recipe you can just add some more agave, I served to the kids too and they weren't put off by it. I wouldn't go too sweet though as it should have some bite.

Looks like you're on the sweets steemtrain now! :P

Lol totally. Hope you enjoy the recipe.

Nice one and thanks for sharing, since becoming vegan in 2012 I seriously still miss cheesecakes so I will be adding this to my ''make this week" list!

Recently I came across a book which has literally revolutionised my vegan cookery called This Cheese is Nuts by Julie Piatt, and wowsers, this lady gets you going again if, like me, you were a feeling a bit jaded in the plant based vegan eating department!

Her vegan "cheeses" are amazingly simple, using guess what??? yep...nuts, from almonds to cashews, and back again...and they really do taste cheesey!

Wishing you full steem ahead in 2018
In peace
lilygolightly⭐️

Thank you for such a detailed reply, I love to help people out when they find the going a bit tough being Vegan. Cheese cakes are so easy to make too, Not a million miles away from this recipe.

I only tried to make vegan cheese once, it failed miserably!! But I will get back around to it at some stage, all the new varieties in the stores are just so tempting!

Ah the old "I miss cheese" vegan cry which if you think about it is similar to the meat eater "can't live without bacon" schtik.

Meant to ask you....after you've frozen it for about 3 hours, do you eat it straight from the freezer or allow to come back to room temp before serving?

Really looking forward to making this later on this week...I will let you know how I get on!

Depending on ambient temperature really, but I'd say about 20 min should do it. The agar agar really helps it keep shape so it wont melt really unless its hot.

LOL totally true on the I miss cheese, I mean really its bovine lactate! If you made human milk cheese people would think your cray cray!

Ok 20mins post freezing and lime yumsville here we come...got it thanks!

And you're exactly bang on... if milk was rebranded as bovine lactate, along with a graphic picture on the label of a calf muzzled to prevent it from suckling I doubt there's be many takers!! Can't see supermarkets or milk marketing boards doing this anytime soon...can you?

One of my past times is to troll the dairy board here! LOL

Great minds and all that!

Well I am so on the opposite scale of been vegan but I have to admit this recipe I am tempted to put to the test because when I think cake I do think diary but this looks really nice. Thanks for the share :)

Hey, you are more than welcome. Don't worry there is hope for everyone, LOL. If you do try it out please let me know how you get on. I couldn't be happier with the results! Thanks for reading too.

Cool and might link up with you actually as I see your article you wrote on passive income and apart from the saxophone music which is my main passion im also an affiliate marketer and sadly one of our mutual contacts here who was the first person who helped me from russia so you prob know who totally mis-misunderstood what an email campaign is using capture pages pulled rank on me and wrote SPAMMER all over a blog that was designed to be an exit url landing page if that makes sense. Just lack of education of his part sadly but despite that its working I have people asking from twitter and instagram opting in and ive got it where they can come ask me question live and I can take them on a one on one steemit tour and show them other people in their niche so anyway not to go on now but your a smart guy. There is a link in my profile to my FB profile so if you want come send a friend request let me know its you because I would like to share what I am also looking to link up with @promo-steem . I think you have some great leadership qualities but you know the one its the seving part that comes first and you are on it my friend. Yes I will have to try this recipe and record the results :)

Just hit you up with an request on FB. I dont really use it and the account Ive reached out on is a dead one but we can message there. Cheers

Thank you for entering the #vegandessertcontest @moonunit! This key lime pie is a great entry ⭐️