You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homemade Pasta Using an Italian Chitarra

in #food6 years ago

ah what an awesome response! thanks @walkerland!! i totally agree with you that it's manmade and from the GMOs and pesticides, yuck!! thanks for all the tips on grinder and types of wheats you like. very exciting! is there anyone also on this page in your area that does have more land? i remember reading about something in Los Angeles where people were getting together and doing an initiative around alt heritage grains. yeah here it is... they mention red fife too! it'd be cool to collaborate locally!

Sort:  

It really would be cool! I have an open mind to the idea but have not yet found people in our area that hold to our philosophies (organic, chemical free, heirloom,heritage and all that). I know there are people out there - we just haven't met yet! Thank for the link. I really enjoyed reading that. It got me wondering about the local mill and how they afford to do what they do. It's a very small business!

You might also want to consider making it sourdough which helps break down the proteins and make them more digestible. We are experimenting with all kinds of sourdough versions of wheat products. I've tried sourdough chocolate chip cookies and pancakes. I would like to try sourdough noodles and soft pretzels next!

Very cool! I love baking with sourdough. I never thought about using it for pasta before. Very interesting!