Pumpkin Galore II

in #food6 years ago

IMG_5986.JPG

I am continuing with my earlier post on pumpkins I saw at a farm. There are so many varieties of pumpkin or squash. I think some varieties are used for decoration only and are not meant to be eaten. I may be wrong.

IMG_5966.JPG

I have a friend who collects and toasts seeds from the pumpkins we carve into jack-o-lanterns but I have never tasted these toasted seeds. I enjoy cut pumpkins simply roasted with other root vegetables sprayed with olive oil and with the usual seasonings of salt and pepper.

IMG_5965.JPG

I like to make pumpkin bread as the deep yellow colour of the bread makes it appetising. I got a potato bread recipe from a former colleague and just switched the potato with pumpkin.

IMG_5964.JPG

Ever since eating a hotpot meal at a Mongolian restaurant where sliced pumpkin was also served, I have included pumpkin when having hotpot or steamboat at home. As pumpkin gets mushy if overcooked, do not remove the hard skin. The skin would help hold the pulp. When eating, simply scoop up the sweet pulp with a spoon.

Sort:  

I have never eaten these types of pumpkin. I only eat the leaves. These are beautiful, even if it's not eaten, it is beautiful enough for decoration. But if eaten, I could tell it's going to be sweeeeeeet