You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Make Your Own Apple Pectin For Jams & Jellies

in #food6 years ago

Great idea! We have an apple tree, so I can actually try this!!! :) so excited those apples won't go to waste this year. Since you mentioned citrus, have you made pectin with it too?

Sort:  

I have not! :( It costs me well over a dollar per organic lemon here ...oranges are super pricey too. Apples however I have access to thousands of them for free - all kinds of apples growing wild in the woods around here!

Over a dollar per lemon, yikes!! You just gave me a flashback to going grocery shopping "out in town" (aka "off base") in Newfoundland as a kid, and hearing my mom lament the prices!

Goodness! You got to live in Newfoundland? Cool!

Citrus seems to have always been expensive. With all the crazy weather and disasters I can only imagine its going to get worse! Most of our citrus is imported.

My dad was stationed there (at Argentia Naval Air Station) for the 2 years just before the US closed that base and returned the land to Canada. Best 2 years of my childhood, hands down!! :) But the grocery logistics to stock the Commissary were pretty bad, so we'd shop at Sobey's out in town for perishable items.

What a neat experience. You really have had a life of moving from place to place!