The different types of food available in the Mountains

in #food24 days ago

During the trek, the two most major challenges that I faced were the food and the climate. By the end of the trek, I had lost my apetite completely, and I was not eating well. My tour guide was actually worried for me that I would get sick. But then I had carried protein bars, which saved my day. Though in the last 2 days, I did not feel like eating that as well

The food was decent, but the problem was with my pallet. I am not fond of eating the foods that were available, like the noodles, fried rice, and sandwiches. These foods are never a part of my diet.

Some of the foods that I liked were the Dal rice or the curry rice. There was a Sherpa stew also, but again, it was filled with cornflour, so I was not enjoying it much. Dal rice was safest, and that's what I ate the most, repeating it in several meals. By the end of it, I was fed up with that, too.

I did not want to be fussy, so I tried all the food one time, but I could not finish my plates, so then I stopped experimenting.

It is advisable not to eat non-veg foods as you go up. The reason is that the livestock takes many days to reach up, and then the storage facilities are not very good, so it's safe not to eat non-veg food.
I did try out once and ordered chicken fried rice, but it was not at all good, I could not eat, and I had to order another dish.

As we kept moving up, the items on the menu also started getting lesser and lesser. The last day I absolutely could not eat, because of the cold I had lost my apetite completely, so then I just Dal soups which also I forced myself so that I have enough strength to move during the day.

One day, I ordered an egg sandwich, and I dont know what went wrong, but I kept feeling very uneasy. It was probably it was the fries that made me uneasy. So after that, I did not even prefer to eat sandwiches.

I would start my day in the morning with 2 boiled eggs and a cup of ginger lemon honey water. Along with it, I would have the protein bar which I had carried, which was organic and sugar-free, which I really enjoyed. This would make me full and also give me a good amount of energy to trek. Afternoon meals were mostly Dal bhat as I did not want to explore and take any risk during the trek. Dinner was when I would try out new things and always feel disappointed. On one of the days, I ordered a cheese pizza, and it was extremely salty, so again, I could not finish that.

Food was something that I just somehow managed it during all the 9 days of the trek, and I also realised how rigid I had become with my food habits.

1000227425.jpg

1000227431.jpg

1000227434.jpg

1000227419.jpg

1000227428.jpg

The day I returned back to Kathmandu, my only wish was to eat some good indian food. Next to my hotel was a multi cuisine restaurant. I went there and had butter chicken with beer. I had stopped drinking 2 months before the trek, and honestly, it felt good at that moment.

1000228387.jpg

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif

image.png

"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Member of



Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 15.03% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

True ma'am, being in an unfamiliar place, the safest food to take would be familiar to our taste buds. Just as we travel, we always end up with fast food since the food is similar no matter what places you go. 😊

We Indians are little rigid with our food habits, we keep craving for our food during our travels :-)

I see ma'am.. The good thing is you made it. 😊

Kathmandu must be an amazing place
I love the dishes though and I’m glad you had an amazing time at the mountains even though it was not easy

Yes Kathmandu is a nice city, it has lots of temples

I guess it wasn't easy for you but thank God you are back from the Mountains though.

Ya, I am glad that I am back but this experience I will never forget, just the most fabulous one of my life

Wow Nainaz, Thanks for sharing the delicious diversity of dishes with us. Always getting hungry when I read your blog 😂😂😂

Haha, honestly I am not a fan of this type of food so when I look at it I lose my appetite.

Really 😂😂😂 sorry about that

You had an amazing moment Ma'am @nainaztengra in your trekking journey. You face a lot of challenges like the climate and the food, however, you still able to manage it.

what interesting details..
fried rice? is it boiled and then fried?
eating outside home is always not Ok for me;)

The rice is steamed and then in a wok it is mixed with all the veggies and sauces and blended. Normally I like this dish, but here I did not enjoy it and I was also losing my appetite because of the weather. Probably that was making it worst.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been manually curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks:
a community encouraging first-hand content, and each individual living their best life.

Thank you @thekittygirl for your support