Yummy Mango Season is back

in #food3 years ago

One of my favorite fruit.....Mango, I relish it thoroughly and always wait in this particular season to have it. Finally we got our first box of Mangoes, I have been desperately waiting to have it. Well it is said that Mango is a very nutritious fruit, low in calories and high in antioxidants. It is a good source of Vitamin C as well. Very much needed right now...hehehe. Well I have not really dwelled much into the nutrition part of it, but all I know is I love to have it.

Some where in past I had read that you gain weight easily with eating Mangoes and it has kind of registered on my mind, I am seriously not sure if it is true or not, what I read is that it is a healthy replacement of many other snacks, but then I also do not want to over consume it, so while I love it a lot I also restrict myself to having just a couple of them in the season, with the guilt of putting on weight.

Back home in India, some friends have farms where they grow Mangoes, I normally prefer to get from direct source as then I am sure they are grown the organic way, but this year I do not see a chance of going to India in the next few months so will be having it here only. Again here we get very good export quality Mangoes so nothing to worry about on quality.

As kids I remember at my Granny's place we all cousins had to sit in one line on the floor and then Granny would serve all of us in equal share. My sister was greedier then me for it, so she would always pick up one or two pieces from my plate if my attention is not there. These are some special memories that will always stay for life.
Hubby got a box of 15 2 days back and since then every night after dinner I am having one and I am also thinking of these days, it was so much fun :-) I do not think I can get off my childishness when it comes to certain things, like this one.
image.png

Last year, beginning of 2020 when things were still normal, we had visited our friend's farm, where there were lot of Mango trees. Though January is not the season for Mangoes, but there were some raw mangoes on the trees.
image.png

image.png

One for me and one for hubby :-)
image.png

I enjoying eating it, whereas hubby enjoys a shake of it, so made a glass for him and for self, cut the pieces.
image.png

This is mouth watering right. I am sure a lot of you will now be tempted to have it.
Enjoy the Mango season, specially my Indian friends.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

image.png

Member of



MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Sort:  

I am waiting for some specific varieties - brought some to home, but they are not the sweetest.

Ahhaaaa ok. Alphonso is my favorite and I like Ratnagiri also. The ones we got were ripe and sweet, throughly enjoying the stock :-)

Just looking at it makes my mouth water. We have a mango tree on our backyard as well but there's no fruit since it's not yet in season. It'll probably take several more months for our tree to bear fruit.

Yes the Mango tree takes very long to give fruits, probably the longest of all. All the best :-)

I wish I had a garden and I wish there were a few fruit trees in that garden. We had a large grape tree in the house where I lived when I was little. We would pick grapes in the summer and eat them.

True, nothing like having your own garden and growing your own fruits and veggies

Incidentally, I've just tasted my first mango of this season and now found this post. Looks like mangoes are going to be everywhere this time.

This is the season for the next 2 months so enjoy and make the most of it :-)

Congratulations @nainaztengra! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 300000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 310000 upvotes.
You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Here in Thailand too. Can just pick them from the trees :) Super tasty. Some sweet and some more sour. Many different varieties. I always missed them in India as I"d be gone or in the mountains this time of year.

That would be real fun right? plucking them from the tree and having. Ya there are quite a few varieties and some are very sour which I do not like.

I like i too! but rather expensive here:(
how much does it cost there, dear?

It depends but a decent one would cost around 10$ to 12$ for a dozen in India, though here in Muscat it is expensive and will cost almost double this price. For your region I am sure it will be very highly priced since it does not grow there and what you will get will only be export quality

about 1$ for 1 piece? cool! avocado costs about the same here, mangos are more enpensive, about 2-3$ per 1 piece. and it can be met very seldom. But dried mangos start to appear in markets fast now. 100g costs 1,5$, we like it;)
sure, imported fruits are expensive, but bananas and oranges also don't grow there, but they are 1,5$ per 1 kg. Cheaper. I adore fruits, it's a pity they cost rather much here. Waiting for local berries;)

Aca en Venezuela , en mi pueblo donde vivo es la fruta que mas abunda, es mi fruta favorita y tambien la de mi bebe, aca se consigue mango de todo tipo, todos son divinos, ojala pudiera no mandarte 15 sino unos 50 mangos de cada clase para que realmente los disfrutes jejejee

Hi there, no doubt the king of fruits is about to arrive, super excited

Already arrived :-)