Finding the Farmer's Market...

in #food7 years ago

I never thought about food shopping at anything other than regular supermarket grocery stores until about five years ago. It was just so easy to shop at Safeway or Albertson's because they were right there with cheap prices and easy to grab, quick to make or already made food. And I have nothing against those grocery stores. Just didn't know anything about farmer's markets. Well, bring a girlfriend into my life who cooks for a living and things can definitely change. I began to learn about food differently and how the farmer's market can be an incredible way to open the door to better eating.

In 2014 I started becoming really involved in my health. I wanted to know where the food I was eating came from and if the money I was spending on it was being done wisely. Lots of reading. Lots of research. I knew that I wanted to eat better and start living a healthier lifestyle. So one Saturday morning in April, I told the GF take me to experiment at a local farmer's market. l took part of our weekly grocery budget ($20) to use for fresh produce and fruit and was ready for her show me the farmer's market up close.

Well...I was hooked.

I tasted fruit that was rich, ripe, fresh.

Produce held a vibrancy in color and in taste.

Knowledgeable and caring farmers spoke openly and honestly, ready to educate you about their lives and their crops. My eyes were open for the 1st time in a long time in regards to food and health. I started to become fully aware of what my GF had been trying to tell/show me...get healthier, stronger and more aware of food will help you change your lifestyle.

Farmer's markets are great for finding squash, mushrooms, tomatoes, stone fruit, leafy greens, and pod vegetables such a green beans and the last of the season night shades (eggplants). All this produce helps to put together a salad, grill up the veggies and serve them as a side to your meal, add into your morning breakfast or add them to a smoothie. It's the bounty of flavor that is part of the experience of the market. It's a pretty good way to eat.

Nowadays, we continue to find new items at various farmer's markets. A day at a farmers market is a way to be around other food enthusiasts, artisans, neighbors, farmers and musicians. The vibe is fun, energetic and positive. It's a great way to spend the day (or part of the day). And now these little jaunts to the market have been added into our vacations because farmer's markets exist EVERYWHERE!

Here are a few tips that I've learned from shopping at the Market'...

  • Buy Produce first, then Fruits. Produce works with any meals. Get a few different types produce. You can always change it up week by week.
  • Select a fruit that will be used most for snacking on the go, for work, or for the kids. Think melons, stone fruit, berries and Citrus- they are filled with most antioxidants and you don't need to eat much of them.
  • Get a local find. This helps to continue to support local vendors. Could be something as simple as a time saver condiment that can be useful in a lot of ways. Think pestos, marinades, dressings, oils, breads, etc.

So get out there and get shopping at a farmer's market soon. If you already go to a farmer's market, in your area, let me know how your experiences area. If you havent ever gone to a farmer's market, try it out. Let me know how your experience goes!

Happy Eating!