Nuts for Nutella

in #food7 years ago

I'll be the first to admit that I'm nuts for Nutella, or rather, chocolate.  Growing up in a Dutch household, a typical meal consisted of homemade bread smothered in butter and topped with a hearty layer of chocolate sprinkles.  I realized my love for chocolate was legit when I flew back from Amsterdam with 40 pounds of dark chocolate. It was either go all in on the chocolate or wooden clogs - I had zero regrets about my decision.

Nowadays I enjoy making own Nutella with healthy ingredients I can pronounce in a simple and easy way. Below is a very simple recipe for you to get started on making and enjoying your very own Nutella. 

2 cups raw sunflower seeds

2 tablespoons vanilla extract

1/4 cup raw cacao powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons organic coconut oil

1/2 cup organic raw milk (any milk will work, nut, dairy, non-dairy)

3 tablespoons of maple syrup (or your preferred sweetener) 

I begin by toasting the sunflower seeds. Heat up a pan and pour them. Stir them around until they are lightly toasted. 

Let the sunflower seeds cool a bit before tossing them into the food processor. Mix them until they are no longer in their natural form. 

Add the remaining ingredients into the food processor and mix until the taste and texture are to your liking. Adding more coconut oil will give it a smoother texture. I like it both ways - thick and/or creamy - and both ways are satisfying to my palate. This recipe will make a little less than 2 cups of Nutella and stay good in you refrigerator for up to two weeks. Enjoy it on a piece of toast, with fruit, or on your pancake. You'd be hard pressed to find something this would not taste good on! Feel free to leave a comment or share your likes or dislikes with Nutella!


Sort:  

Congratulations @nelissa!
Your post was mentioned in my hit parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 10 with $ 176,71

Thank you!!!!! :-D

Well... real Nutella, is made with hazelnuts, not sunflower seeds....

You're right ! I just like being creative with other ingredients as well!

Making nutella is a super power. Thanks!

You're welcome! :-)

Hey @nelissa, nice post! I am a relatively new Steemer and only just joined the platform. I would love it if you could take a minute to look at my latest post and hit the follow button if my writing interests you. Much appreciated.

Looks so delicious! :D

My kids love nutella. I think I going to try to make it my own now ;-)
Thanks for sharing! Following

You're welcome! Let me know how they like it! :-)

Congratulations @nelissa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I've never seen nutella made with sunflower seeds. I'm intrigued. Upvoted. :)

Thank you!!! :-)

What a great and easy recipe!! That chocolate looks so Good and Dark!! :) Thanks!!