Pizza Inflation - My first purchase

in #food7 years ago (edited)

The Pizza price in BTC dropped by 40.000.000%

WhatsApp Image 2017-03-22 at 19.37.38.jpeg

I'm sure most of you know the Pizza story!?

On May 18, 2010, Hanyecz posted his humble request on the Bitcoin Talk forum.

"I'll pay 10,000 bitcoins for a couple of pizzas ... like maybe 2 large ones so I have some left over for the next day. I like having left over pizza to nibble on later. You can make the pizza yourself and bring it to my house or order it for me from a delivery place, but what I'm aiming for is getting food delivered in exchange for bitcoins where I don't have to order or prepare it myself, kind of like ordering a 'breakfast platter' at a hotel or something, they just bring you something to eat and you're happy!"

He continued: "I like things like onions, peppers, sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes, pepperoni, etc.. just standard stuff no weird fish topping or anything like that. I also like regular cheese pizzas which may be cheaper to prepare or otherwise acquire. If you're interested please let me know and we can work out a deal."

On May 22 Hanyecz posted that someone had taken him up on his offer -- marking what is believed to by many in the community to be the first crypto currency exchange for goods.

According to today's exchange rate for the crypto currency, the pizzas would have cost Hanyecz about $10 million.

A few weeks ago I was browsing the internet looking for a Bitcoin ATM,
to show my friend that has never seen one how to exchange Cash to Bitcoins.
(https://coinatmradar.com/)
not far from my current apartment in Belgrade I found a place called Appetite Restaurant,
at this location you can buy Bitcoins and pay your Dinner with Bitcoins!
https://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g294472-d6558448-Reviews-Appetite_Cafe_Restaurant-Belgrade.html
WhatsApp Image 2017-03-22 at 17.55.07 (3).jpeg

who would have guessed they serve Pizza too....
WhatsApp Image 2017-03-22 at 17.55.07 (1).jpeg

I did not pay $10 million for my Pizza but I paid with Bitcoins

WhatsApp Image 2017-03-22 at 19.45.44.jpeg

Did Laszlo Hanyecz lose a lot of money !?

“It wasn’t like Bitcoins had any value back then, so the idea of trading them for a pizza was incredibly cool,” Mr. Hanyecz told the New York Times.

The programmer, who said his balance is now "in the low single digits," said he is proud of his place in Bitcoin history.
"It kind of helped show people what it was worth," he said.
"If everybody sits on it then there isn't any value [and] then somebody wont trade it," he said. "It feels good that at least I was able to contribute to that."
You Can find his interesting story along with "Top 10 Greatest Moments in Bitcoin History" here: http://cointelegraph.com/news/115146/top-10-greatest-moments-in-bitcoin-history

Did you guys ever pay for your Pizza or any good with Bitcoins?
If yes let me know where!

by the way my Pizza tasted great :)
thanks for reading

Dan

Sort:  

I hope that pizza was really good...

It was , also I paid with BTC I had bought at a price of around $500/BTC last year
so technically I even cut that 6.70$ price in half :)

I would definitely buy pizza with crypto

I'm sure you will find a place that's somewhere on the way to a destination you might be going ;-)

What an amazin result! In few years it will be much more and we can buy every pizza restaurant with it 😁