MY FREE BABY PEACH TREE SEEDLINGS ARE DOING EXCELLENT!

in #food6 years ago

When the price is right!


Last year I potted some peach tree seedlings that were growing under a peach tree in an orchard nearby. Thankfully, they made it through the winter and are doing great!

MY NEW VIDEO WHERE I SHOW THEM OFF

RECAP OF EVENTS

Here is a photo from eleven months ago. It shows a tiny peach tree seedling and also the remains of the peach pit (seed) that it came from. In an old orchard nearby, I noticed a bunch of these little trees sprouting up.

Thankfully, I noticed them just in time too! A neighbor was about to brush hog the whole field, which would have decapitated these little trees. Soon, I had my shovel and was lifting these tiny trees from the soil to pot. At the time, I had twelve total, and they were rather little, at about six inches tall each. Now, most are around two feet tall, and budding already!

When fruit trees are started from seed this way, they are not always true to kind. Due to potential cross-pollination, the fruit may vary from the parent tree. To get fruit on a new tree that is exactly the same as the parent tree grafting must be used. This means that while these seedlings will still produce peaches, the peaches may not be the same as the other tree. In fact, they may be "worse," but, they may also be better. Plant breeders will plant seeds from fruit after experimenting with pollination in order to get a new variety, so I'm willing to take my chances. If the fruit is actually not enjoyable, then we can always graft into these seedlings and use them as a rootstock instead.

Free is free, and I'm excited! We will see what becomes of these trees!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-healthy-little-seedling

Until next time…

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmSKT3AhEpV8JXA2eaE1HQPogXev5rzG4uxMzTi3ieE3Tc

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

See that's the result of hard work @papa-pepper
You never reap what you never sowed..

OMG!...i need to post on that!
Am off!....see ya!

Excellent idea and great point!

Always posting an amazing gist about seedlings,good work @papa pepper.

papa-pepper is so much involved in nature I guess.

Go Green @papa-pepper. 😁

If these plants aren't green by spring, then they are dead. Green it is!

You always have the most interesting plants growing, seedlings being sowed, being grafted and posts from the homestead.

I am waiting for one day to log onto steemit and see a post "Papa Pepper Builds His High Tunnel"... with a picture of you in the middle of the interior with your arms wide open and smile upon your face as you show us your proof and all the plants, herbs, trees and the little peppers helping you!

Hopefully soon enough! I'll keep you posted!

Wow .. I learnt grafting years ago .... I'm glad I'm able to relate to what you are saying .. there is a question have been wanting to ask you all this while.... you seem to know a lot about animal husbandry and even crop breeding .. I just have to ask this .... are all this self taught?

Yeah, mostly hands on - self taught education. Trial and error, and that sort of thing.

Wow that's really good

Not to many things better then free except free fruit trees. Nice find on spotting them since most people would have walked right by and not even thought about it. I'm sure after you saved them from execution they will produce quality fruit for you.

I love it! Free seedlings are where it’s at. Plus there’s the genetic diversity from seedlings that rocks out. Love to see a fellow tree tender.

Any issues you’ve noticed with peaches where you’re at? We just planted a peach last fall and it’s just now leafing out, we’ll see how it does. There’s an orchard close to ya but they spray numerous times a year.🤨

Well, I won't be spraying like some do, but I'm just getting started. Not sure what the locals really do.

this is great @papa-pepper, you are always successful in everything.
Thank you for always sharing our knowledge.

Love anything free! Here's hoping that you get some awesome fruit but that won't be for a few more years. I hate waiting that long for my trees to develope fruit...

Great post

This looks like an interesting journey. Keep us posted on the final result i.e whether the fruits will test better or worse than those of the parent tree. Your dedication is inspiring.

Very good stuff. Wants me to find some land!

We like having land! We seem to have more options this way.

Nice video i enjoyed watching it @papa-pepper
Way to go

Waooooo
Si Dios quiere, comeremos excelentes melocotones.
Vamos que tu puedes.
Los muestras cuando esten maduros y listos para uhmmmmm.
Saludos

I'm happy for you that the peach tree seedlings made it through the winter and are doing great.
Great work

Wooh papa this plant her really blossom
Thanks for today Papa-pepper for the GIF
i cant thanks you enough am so grateful
I acknowledge you in my today post thanks

https://steemit.com/blog/@gbija/first-gif-ever-from-the-legend-himself-papa-pepper-thanks-so-much

Nice, I saw that! Thanks, I am glad that you liked it!

Wooh papa this plant her really blossom
Thanks for today Papa-pepper for the GIF
i cant thanks you enough am so grateful
I acknowledge you in my today post thanks

https://steemit.com/blog/@gbija/first-gif-ever-from-the-legend-himself-papa-pepper-thanks-so-much

@papa-pepper I love your posts as you are original and true.
😄 Plus you always show prooof.
By the way the peach 🍑 plants look awesome.. And healthy. Well grown Sir.

you never know, maybe one will be delicious, then you can call it the papa pepper peach and sell cuttings.

LOL - Now that would be something!

I have a fantasy where the avocado seed I planted a decade ago someday fruits and the avocados are actually decent.

My grandmother in Missouri always had peaches -- just from tossing peach pits in her garden, along with her other kitchen waste. Some trees did better than others, and none of them lived a long time (usually less than 10 years) because they weren't disease resistant. But growing seedlings is a great way to get peaches for free. And maybe discover a new variety that is resistant to some problems that trouble other peach trees. Enjoy your peaches! :D

Yup, there is always risks, but free is free and you never know what'll come of it. Thanks for the insight and for the encouragement!

Good to hear that @papa-pepper. Weldon job
You have reap from your hard labour. I have always known a great and hardworking man. Keep up the good work.

That's pretty cool! I've been keeping plants alive all winter inside. I can tell they are about tired of it and are ready to go back outside. I've been propagating succulents and cactus (cause they love Chicago so much) I also LOVE moss. Nice to meet you, I'm Melissa!

Nice to meet you too! Thanks for introducing yourself Melissa!

Of course! I read some of your others posts too, looks like a picked a good one for my newly curated feed :)

Thats good @papa-pepper it requires time ,patience and energy to nurture a fruit tree. And let me say I'm always motivated with your homesteading post here on steemit. you have inspired me to acquire a piece of land which I plan to use for fish farming. Even though I'm a town planner in Nigeria.

They are beautiful and big

If the fruit is not enjoyable you have the goats that will enjoy!

I grew up on a farm on the Great Plains (US) in the 1950's and 1960's. One of the tasks we took on every spring was grafting peach, pear, and pecan trees. How soon are you planning to do your grafts? They look a little small right now.

These will keep growing. On some of my other fruit trees I am currently grafting.

What kind of plant it is ..

Hey man I really admire your planting and growing skills. I guess you have two green thumbs 🙂

I've been struggling just keeping my plants at home alive. No matter what I do my plants are not surviving inside my house. That's what's confusing me because these plants arehome plants! I have no clue why they're dying..

Hi i'm rocky , Lets help each others . Please Follow Me , I will follow you back . Thanks !