ANZAC Cookie Recipe - An Annual Special With a Story...

in #food6 years ago

What is an ANZAC cookie? In fact, what is an ANZAC you ask? Great question! I'm not sure if this term is familiar to anyone except those living either in Australia or NZ or perhaps other countries in the Commonwealth. For those who don't know...

ANZAC = Australian and New Zealand Army Corps

The cookies are traditionally eaten on ANZAC day (25th April) which is a day where we commemorate all the Australian + NZ men and women who have served their nation in times of war.

What does this have to do with a cookie?

I'm just remembering what I was taught at school here in Australia but basically in WWI, the wives and partners of men who had gone to war wanted to send over a tasty snack to keep the soldiers going and so they developed a recipe using cheap, everyday ingredients. Thus the ANZAC cookie was born...the cookie does not spoil easily and also travelled well when it needed to be shipped overseas.

It looks just like an oatmeal cookie

Well it basically is! It just uses ingredients that are very common in Australia such as rolled oats and golden syrup :)

Less talky, more cookie

Yes sir! Let's get started...

Step One

Ingredients required:

(Woops I forgot my usual ingredients post, but uh they're slightly boring ingredients anyway so I can list them instead)

  • Plain flour
  • Brown sugar
  • Rolled oats
  • Desiccated coconut
  • Golden syrup
  • Bi-carb soda
  • BUTTER

Step Two

All the dry ingredients into a bowl please.

Step Three

Melt butter, golden syrup and 2 TBSP water in a small saucepan

(That's our dinner cooking in the back there!)

Step Four

Combine wet + dry

Step Five

Roll into balls and leave plenty of room as they will spread. Pop into a 140C pre-heated oven for 12 minutes.

Step Six

Let them cool on the tray for a few minutes then transfer to a wire rack to completely cool.

Tasty, Easy, what else can you ask for in a cookie?

Nothing. Absolutely nothing. I had to convince myself that my snacking was in the name of quality and that I was 'taste-testing' but truth be told I just kept eating them just 'cause.

Yep, we are gonna be faaaaaaaaaaat in the coming days that's for sure.

I think I will exercise some self-control and actually bring these in for my workmates so at least I'm sharing it with the Steemit community AND taking care of my health whilst feeding my fellow colleagues...win/win/win.

Hope you guys enjoyed this one, let me know what your fav cookie flavour is !!

@phamished xx

Sort:  

You are not helping my diet! :/

You got a 37.55% upvote from @th3voter thanks to: @robin1991!


kitten fighting :)
Image Source cloudinary.com


This post has upvoted from @th3voter !For more information, click here!

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to our bot, 98% of earnings paid out to delegators. To do so, click below:
30SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP, 10000SP,
Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.

I'm sorry!! I have some healthy recipes too! :D Just scroll down my blog a bit hehe

I actually made a healthy version of this cookie too but it was very difficult to shape so I didn't post it...

This post has received a $21.43 % upvote from @siditech thanks to: @robin1991.
Here's a banana! banana-small.png

You got a 27.46% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @robin1991! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

Great post! You've earned a 35.29% upvote from @dolphinbot
Join the DolphinBot Team for Daily Payouts in Steem! Click here: http://bit.ly/dolphinbot

Man, I could really go some of these right now.

Haha gimme your address and I’ll send them over!!! If they could travel for weeks at sea back 80 years ago they can travel by plane now 😂😂

...alternatively you could whip them up and be eating them in 30 minutes 🤓😛

Yeah, that's probably easier.

Good thing I had some cookies on hand LOL

But since they ship so well, let me send you my address 🤪

visiting you from the alliance :)

Hahaha I would actually send them but they might arrive in crumbs :( the ones I made are soft and chewy so would likely crumble!!

I think the real ones they sent during the war were ROCK HARD!

Thank you for visiting me, always great to see a familiar friendly face!! 🤗😊🤗

I think shipping would cost 10 times the cost of the ingredients. But if I ever come to your part of the woods, I am going to stop by and ask you to make me some 🤪

It's a deal!! Or if I can't bake them I can most certainly redirect you to some very famous bakeries that I'm sure would do an even better job!