Potato Pancakes with Bacon & Cheese :) YUM!!!

in #food7 years ago

How to make Cheesy Bacon Potato Pancakes that is an absolute sensation for breakfast...

This is a completely new experience for me. My food is normally delish, but never thought about posting about it LOL...Please excuse my errors in this post and I will appreciate any constructive criticism..

You will need the following

  • Mashed Potato (I used 1.5KG or 3.3Pounds of Potatoes, but you can use Powder Mash a.k.a Smash)
  • Bacon Bits or Bacon cut into Bits
  • 3 x Large Eggs
  • 1/2 Cup or 60 Grams Flour
  • 2 Cups or 500ML Milk
  • Cheese according to your taste, I used Edam since it's got a bit of a nutty aftertaste...
  • Oil to fry the pancakes in
  • Herbs / Seasoning to Taste

So everyone pretty much know how to make mashed potato, so I left that step out.

STEP1 - Pancake Batter
Add Eggs, Flour & Milk to Mashed Potato. You will know when it's 100% when it reaches a normal pancake consistency, not too runny and not too stiff

Potato Pancake Batter.jpg
Potato Pancake Batter

STEP2 - Fry Potato Pancakes
Heat up frying pan and coat base of frying pan with oil
Add a spoon full of Potato Batter to pan

Add pancakes one spoon at a time.jpg
Frying up some Potato Pancake Awesomeness

STEP3 - Crispy Bacon Time!!
You can make bacon many different ways, I found the quickest and easiest way would be to add the bacon bits on to a kitchen towel and then microwave on high for 10 minutes...check frequently to make sure it doesn't burn though and you are achieving the desired crispyness ;)

bacon on kitchen towel for microwave.jpg
Bacon on Kitchen Towels prior to going into the Microwave

waiting & smelling bacon.gif
mmmmmm Bacon....arghhh

mmm bacon.jpg
Bacon is DONE

STEP4 - Stack them and enjoy ;)

So the rest is quite self explanatory...you fry up the potato pancakes and then stack them as illustrated below

1st layer of cheese.jpg
1st Layer of Cheesed added

IMG-20170715-WA0016.jpg
My fav cheese that I used

Add Bacon on Top.jpg
Add 2nd Layer of Potato Pancake + Bacon

Add More Cheese.jpg
More cheese please

End Results.jpg
Voila, you are done ;)

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Sort:  

This looks amazing!! And a man that cooks too, your wife is one lucky gal :)

Going to try this as I always look for something new out of my comfort zone..thanks for sharing :)

No problemo...thanks for your reply :)

That's cool. I never made potato pancakes from mashed potatoes. Gotta try that!

Cool we love bacon !

Ohhh yes we do!!! One of the many reasons why I wont be able to go vegan...they served me macon one day and I was insulted..lol

Mmmmmm get in my tummy.

hahaha...it's awesome yes...it's quick an easy for a snack if you want to use powder mash (smash) instead of real potato..tastes more a less the same, but takes less effort ;) lol