🥑🍞 Vegan Tofu Scramble w/Avocado FULL RECIPE 🍞🥑

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Tofu scramble gets such a bad rep I feel like, even amongst vegans... I never understood it and now since trying it I definitely do not understand it! I feel like I’m VERY late jumping on the tofu scramble train as this is my first time trying it.... 🤭 for real. I was never really an “egg” person anyways, I never really craved eggs (or any animal products) after going vegan so I don’t tend to sway towards eating mock meats, or vegan versions of things... BUT this is seriously so good!? Anyone else who’s tried it love tofu scramble?

5C0D316C-2E48-4108-B714-B2710E15375B.jpeg

When I was growing up if I ever had eggs for breakfast, or whatever meal, I would always have it with toast & ketchup. No I’m not kidding, I put ketchup on everything, even Mac n’ Cheese... haha! Is this just a Canadian thing? Let me know 😂 So this recipe was created to bring me back to that weird combination because... why not! 😂

I didn’t use ketchup here (surprisingly), I used salsa instead and it was SO good. I’d have to say it is better than if I’d had used ketchup. Did I just say that 🤭

4325938C-DBFF-4A0D-8F0A-97179A1A9977.jpeg

I would definitely recommend this for anyone to at least try, because as we know tofu is a great source of plant based protein! 💪🏼

If you decide to make this recipe and take a photo, tag me on Instagram @platedbykay + #platedbykay so I can see your awesome recreations!

E3CF8D03-5799-4564-8E34-6DBE2215F403.jpeg

FULL RECIPE:

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time 15 minutes
Total time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

1 pack of tofu
1 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp black salt (to give it that egg taste, it is totally optional if you want to leave it out!)
1-2 tsp smoked paprika (adjust to desired flavour)
1/2 tsp cumin powder

Instructions:

• Crumble tofu with hands into a bowl
• Add all spices and combine well
• Place in a pre-heated non-stick pan at medium-high heat and allow to cook for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally to ensure nothing burns
• Remove from heat & add to a slice of toast with avocado, cilantro & black sesame seeds on top (optional), with salsa on the side to dip (also optional)
• ENJOY it 💚

Sort:  

This looks marvelous and very tasty! My girlfriend and I have been vegetarians for the last month (with advancement to veganism in near future, I hope) and we have just yesterday tried tofu for the very first time. We will definitely continue buying it and recipes like this are really a pleasure to watch. Especially seeing that it only takes 20 minutes of our day! We still have to learn a lot about preparing plant-based food so we are looking forward to blogs like yours. :) Avocado is also a new thing on our menu and it tasted great as a cream for tortillas, I can't wait to see how will it turn out when I try this. Thank you for this and I hope you enjoyed it!