King Scallops Starter

in #food2 years ago (edited)

Good Afternoon,

Yesterday my Husband and I went out for lunch at one of our favourite restaurants. We both had the King Scallops. I love Scallops and I don't have them very often, so when I see them on the menu, I usually order them.

King Scallops

"King scallops - sweetcorn - nduja - scallop roe butter."

IMG_6263.jpeg

When I first saw this come out, I thought this was going to be a light starter before the main. However, as I started to eat it, I got quite full up because of the richness. Now this isn't a bad thing. The scallops had a great colour and they were so sweet and tender. The nduja I believe was crumbled on top. I definitely tasted the kick and the heat of it. I didn't know what nduja was and then I was informed it was a spicy sausage. It had heat, but in a pleasant way. The sweetcorn was in some sort of mix and that had a kinda crab taste to me. Definitely tasted of the sea and the roe butter was very rich. The flavours all came together well and I was so glad there was plenty of time before my main got served.

This was a delicious dish and I would definitely have it again but not with such a big main on the way. The best scallops I've had in a very long time.