Will it be pizza?

in #food4 years ago

PSX_20200424_132930.jpg

I find it fun having quick meal ideas without hunting any recipes online. Especially when am am extremely hungry like it's a daunting task, plus, if the ingredients asked can't even be found at my local grocery stores.

I was craving for pizza but apparently three of the big supermarkets we do our grocery shopping ran out of flour. Did this quarantine turned people into bakers?

Pizza delivery would have been so convenient but the only pizza place that we like don't deliver to our area.

So, yeah that was my story.

Today's lunch is just based on what I have in my fridge. Now, let's see what have I come up with using some ingredients that I already have on hand .

PSX_20200424_133006.jpg

Okay, so it turned out I wasn't making a pizza! 😁

Nope, this isn't a pizza it doesn't even look like one, rather call it a sandwich.

Here's how I prepared it :

First, I started with toasting the day old wheat bread with olive oil, then I added shredded mozzarella cheese just a thin layer until it gets crisp, doesn't stick to the pan and it makes the bread more crunchy. Did the same on the other side. While I was doing all that, the pepperonis are cooking on the sides. Doing it everything in one pan! 😁

Then, I added a little bit of marinara sauce (this was a left over dipping sauce from when we made some egg muffins with mozzarella cheese on top), I only added a little bit because I didn't want the bread to soak up the liquid and get soggy.

Next, I added the pepperonis, I used four pepperoni (just because I can! 😅). When cheese was all melted, I transferred it to a plate.

Wait, am not yet done cooking!

I fried two beaten eggs in the same pan since its got enough grease in it. After about 30 seconds I added the pizza bread then folded the egg into it, so the egg is wrapping the whole bread. Then, I just sprinkled some more mozzarella cheese on top.

So, it was mission impossible! I didn't make a pizza but it has some of the taste (except that smell you get from fresh baked dough!) and texture that I have been craving. That crispy toasted bread, chewiness and aroma of the cheese, good marina sauce, some extra pepperoni. Though I don't know about the egg wrapped, haha other than that let's just say it's pretty darn good!

Can anyone help me come up with an unforgettable name for this dish? 😂

Sort:  

I don't know what to call it but I know that it dfinitely tastes as good as it looks! :D

You may have created a new dish, it looks tasty.

lol I'm going to name it the Pizza Quarantina :P

Also decided to try out tipping, also lets see if this is working on HIVE now !ENGAGE 50

Thanks a lot for the tip 😘

Pleasure! You’re my tipping test subject 😜

Okay, it helps us to be learned how to make home made pizza!

Its 😋