Yummy Fruit+Granola Cereal Bowl for a Healthy Start to Your Day

in #food6 years ago

Hello, hello you beautiful being of light! Yes, that's you!


I hope your Sunday is off to a wonderful start. Here in Thailand, the sun is shining, the birds are chirping, and I'm feeling so grateful to be alive! Sending you some of this loving energy through the interwebs! <3

A few months ago I became obsessed with making smoothie bowls for my breakfast each morning. I have discovered that when I eat a heavy, carb-filled breakfast, I end up feeling a bit heavy all day, and I end up eating more throughout the day! (My theory is that when my breakfast fills me up and stretches out my stomach, I end up needing more throughout the day to fill me up). But, on the other hand, when I eat fruit, or light, refreshing things for breakfast, like smoothies/smoothie bowls, I leave breakfast feeling refreshed, rejuvenated, and reinvigorated for the day ahead! So a few months ago I made this conscious switch, and now I start most days (but not every day, because, well, sometimes I need to eat a bagel 😋) with a smoothie bowl.

In fact, I wrote about a blog post all about this realization, and all about my love for smoothie bowls. You can check out that post here

But today, I want to share with you my new obsession. There was a short period of time when I did not have access to a blender, and so my beloved smoothie bowls and I had to take a little break from one another. But during this time, I still wanted to have a fruity, refreshing, filling breakfast that would kick-start my day into awesomeness, and so I started making Fruit+Granola Cereal Bowls.


IMG20180817104812.jpg

I used to love eating cereal as a kid and a teenager. Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Honey Bunches of Oats, Cap'n Crunch.... but then there came the realization that this crap was just sugar-coded puffs being marketed as "a healthy breakfast". In reality, this stuff is actually closer to "candy" than it is to "cereal". And I soon just stopped having and wanting cereal altogether.

But then I realized that I could just make my own cereal! And still enjoy a sweet, cold, milky breakfast without all the added sugar and preservatives.

Nowadays I usually have either a smoothie bowl or a fruit-cereal bowl for breakfast or lunch. It's very affordable, very easy, and very delicious. Plus, it's a healthy, and great way to start you day.

So, how do I make my fruit+granola cereal bowls? It's really quite easy...

First, I gather all of my ingredients. I like to use a variety of fruit, nuts, seeds, and granola to make my cereal.


IMG20180817103719.jpg

For today's cereal, I used papaya, mango, banana, dates, and my favorite, pink dragonfruit (it just makes me so happy!)

I begin by chopping up the fruit into small chucks. I use only about a quarter of each fruit, so I can make a lot of cereal with a small amount of ingredients!


IMG20180817104406.jpg

Chop it all up, and add it to your bowl.


IMG20180817104500.jpg

Now the fun part, adding in all the extra yummy things. Today I'm using a quality brand of granola which has dried blueberries, pumpkin seeds, walnuts, and cashews already in the mix (I make sure to buy granola that doesn't have too much added sugar). I'm also adding in some almonds, chia seeds and sesame seeds for more fiber, and some honey-roasted sunflower seeds.

Add everything to the bowl, and then mix it up.


IMG20180817104626.jpg

The last step is to simply pour in your 'milk'.I highly recommend using non-dairy milk, and my favorite is Almond milk. But soy, coconut, or any other milk alternative will work just fine.


IMG20180817104746.jpg

And there you have it. A fruity, creamy, refreshing, and oh-so healthy, delicious meal. Great for anytime, but especially breakfast time!

Grab a cup of tea or coffee, and enjoy!


IMG20180817104812.jpg

IMG20180817104920.jpg

IMG_2819.JPG

Thank you for taking the time to stop by my blog. I greatly appreciate any comments or questions, and of course, greatly appreciate every UPVOTE.


If you enjoyed this post, please don’t hesitate to follow
me here on steemit at @rainbowrachel 🌟 🌟

Feel free to follow me on
facebook.JPG and on instagram.JPG

I appreciate all your support. 💙 💙

Sending you my love and light:
🌈 Rachel


me small.png

IMG_2819.JPG

QmTu9wkt59AtjptdMSsohv6jf1zagGv7KpapgGkzbwgPyt.png

I am a proud member of @tribesteemup, a beautiful community of people working together to help make the world a more peaceful, positive, free place. Among us are healers, free-thinkers, teachers, and high-vibe people who are creating great content to help make the world more positive and better for us all. Please stop by the page to check out the group and support the work being created. 💗
IMG_2819.JPG

I’m also a proud passenger on the @ecotrain

Check out the hashtag #ecotrain for more high-quality, high-vibe articles from people working to bring more positivity and forward movement to the world.

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

etrain.png

IMG_2819.JPG


Promo-Mentors Discord Link

Asapers.gif


#breakfast #healthyliving #health #fruit #startyourdayoutright #foodisfuel #food

Sort:  

This is one big bowl of happiness...
Thanks for sharing @rainbowrachel, I will go and make mine.

yay! Enjoy :)

thanks for sharing this..i love food

Woo! Love your post - we've given you a wee upvote and hope it helps you continue to write such amazing posts.

If you're a supporter of all things natural healing, and haven't already got on board our collective, you might like to read our introductory post here. We'd also love to welcome you on Discord here!!

thank you @naturalmedicine. I appreciate your support and all that you stand for!