How to Make Organic Chocolate Syrup (SUPER EASY)

in #food7 years ago

DSCN2959.JPG

This is my own recipe that I came up with a few years ago in order to have a healthier choice for my chocolate syrup loving husband. He uses it on his ice cream or to make chocolate milk. I also like to drizzle it on my own homemade organic chocolate cream pies - a recipe I will share another day :D

DSCN1874.JPG

Here is what you will need to make one pint of chocolate syrup/sauce (depending on how long you cook it):

  • 1 cup organic whole milk (I am using raw goat's milk)
  • 1 cup honey or organic cane sugar
  • 3/4 cup organic cacao powder
  • pinch of salt - I am using Redmond Real Salt here but another good choice is pink Himalayan salt
  • 1 Tablespoon grass-fed Butter
  • 1 Tablespoon Vanilla extract
    (homemade is best and you can find my How-To on that right here: https://steemit.com/howto/@raincountry/how-to-make-vanilla-extract)

Mix the first four ingredients in a small sauce pan and cook on medium heat on whatever cooking surface you choose. In the winter I do this on top of my wood stove inside, sometimes I use a solar powered hot plate, this time I used our rocket stove. Stir frequently with a wire whisk until it thickens. Usually this takes about 5 minutes to get to a syrup stage, if you cook it longer, it will be more like a thick sauce that is similar to a fudge topping, it is simply a matter of choice here.

DSCN2962.JPG

Once you have it to the desired consistency, remove from heat and add the butter and vanilla and mix well.

DSCN2970.JPG

Allow to cool long enough to be able to safely pour into a glass pint sized mason jar. If you tend to be messy like me, I recommend using a stainless steel canning funnel.

DSCN2977.JPG

Put on a tight fitting lid and store in the refrigerator. Best if used up within two weeks.

DSCN2983.JPG

Hope you enjoyed this easy recipe and that you will give it a try. Thank you for your time and have a lovely rest of your day! ~Heidi

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Another awesome from scratch recipe from Rain! Resteemit!

I have to make this now! I just made cajeta! Will have new post on that soon! Upvoted and resteemed my friend!

Wow! This is amazing! Thanks for the tip!

I bet that is great! I cannot get raw milk right now, I wonder if you could use heavy cream instead?

You can do that, or even half and half. If you do, then just leave out the butter

Ok, thanks! I will have to try this soon.

That does look just too delicious...

cleans up drool from off of keyboard think I'm going to make chocolate milk based on this recipe... BRB!

Will try this Heidi!-I am diabetic but still love a little sweet here and there so this is a way more healthy recipe, so much better than any other bought chocolate for me :) thanks a lot for sharing!

Great post, upvoted, followed and Resteemed!!!