Recipe: Gluten Free Pickle Chicken Tacos (that make awesome leftover nacho bowls)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Pickle Chicken Tacos

Pickles and tacos? Yes. This is a simple (and damn tasty) way to change up your traditional Taco Tuesday night.

| Preparation time: 24 hrs | Cook time: 15 minutes | Serves: 4-6 |

Imgur

Ingredients:

Marinade:

1 full jar of dill pickle juice (usually 2 empty jars worth)
1 package of boneless, skinless white meat chicken

Seasoning:

1 Tbsp Chili Powder
2 Tsp Ground Cumin
1 Tbsp Smoked Paprika
1 Tsp Cayenne Pepper
3 Cloves Garlic- pressed or minced
3 Tbsp Butter
½ Cup Water

Directions for Marinade

In a freezer bag or sealable container lay the chicken tenderloin or chicken breast and cover with dill pickle juice. Marinade in the refridgerator for 18-24 hours.

Directions for Cooking

In a heavy-bottomed pan, melt the butter. Sweat the garlic in the butter. Drain the chicken of the pickle juice and lay it flat in the pan. Add the rest of the seasoning, and cook on medium heat until the chicken is browned on both sides, and the water is reduced to a thick sauce.

Congratulations! You just made a reduction! Shred the chicken with two forks or pull chicken into shredded pieces. Coat in the seasoning reduction sauce.

Serve on the tortilla of your choice--we use a mix of crunchy tortillas. We serve this on a platter in a DIY fashion with an assortment of corn, onions, peppers, cheeses, salsas, beans fresh herbs, and rice. Serves 1-6 (Depending on how much you like tacos).


Why Pickle Chicken?

I love tacos. The only thing I love more than tacos is a taco party. I will eat tacos for breakfast, for lunch or dinner. My taco love has no limit.

But….Pickle Chicken Tacos? Yes. My kids love pickles. Pickle frozen pops. Pickle salad. Pickles on hot dogs. Pickles. I grew tired of ground beef tacos. We used to make steak tacos and pork tacos. But one child protested they were “too hard” or “too spicy”. So I marinated chicken in some pickle juice and VIOLA! The birth of Pickle Chicken Tacos.

I love this because I can just come home from the grocery store and throw some chicken tenderloin in the pickle juice and let it sit…. sometimes for days if I forget about it the proper amount of time to marinade something. It doesn’t take long to prepare and you don’t have to worry about presentation which make it great for larger parties, or for having random people over to eat (or for eating alone in solitude because you don't like sharing).

A great side dish for this is a Garlic Plantain Fritter. Similar to a potato pancake, but goes better with tacos.

Sort:  

Yay for sharing your amazing food with the world! :)

Thank you for checking it out!

try this mango pickle ..i love it

That would be an interesting pair as a side or on top of the tacos!

Very interesting. I never heard of marinating chicken in pickle juice before... strangely sounds tasty :)

Thanks for sharing

Congratulations @rarintugo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Best food ever
good post
I need some followers so if u do me a favor I can do the same for u.
Follow @arslan786

I can vouch for their tastyness :)

Hey thanks! :)

So hungry looking at that!

Me too. I had to start with one of my favorites.

What an incredible recipe!!! I have heard that Chik Fil A marinates their chicken in pickle juice to get that tender chicken :) I have not been able to confirm this yet .. I am going to try this recipe for sure and will comment back when I do :) Looking forward!!! SUNSHINE247

I have heard that too, but have never had Chik-Fil-A. I would love to hear some feedback! And on Wednesday I am posting a recipe for the Plantain Fritters that we also pictured. I think they go pretty well together. I hope you check back!

That sounds really yummy!! I will have to check those out :) Happy cooking!!! SUNSHINE247

You are the most creative chef I've ever known! Keep sharing your amazing creations!

Youm! Delicious :-)

hello
This is awesome
Please check my last post and share your opinion
@muhammadbadawi

Hey, my name is Nadine and I am new on steemit. I would be happy if you could check out my post as well and follow back. Thank you:-)
https://steemit.com/travel/@leo-tmp/amazing-festival-in-pattaya-thailand-my-travel-diary
I really like your post. Nice!

Awesome feed!
My dad is gluten intolerant and I will refer this recipe to him :)
Upvoted and followed!

i think i can down with the pickle tacos.

I would definitely try this at home.

nice recipe that looks very delicious thanks