Recipe: Gluten Free Apple Rum Spice Cake

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Gluten Free Apple Rum Spice Cake

Because sometime cake needs a little rum in it

Imgur

| Prep time: 20 minutes | Cook time: 35-45 minutes | Serves: However many slices you cut |

Ingredients:

1 ½ Cup Gluten Free Pancake Mix
4 Large Baking Apples (yes, you really want sour apples. It matters)
3 Large Eggs
½ Cup Spiced Rum
⅓ Cup Salted Butter
2 Tbsp Brown Sugar
½ Tsp Cardamon
½ Tsp Cinnamon
½ Tsp Sea Salt
Pinch of Nutmeg
Powder Sugar and Extra Cinnamon for Dusting

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F (177C).
Grease your bundt pan or cake pan.
Peel and Dice the apples into about 1” cubes. Cook the Diced Apples with Sea Salt in a saute pan on medium-high heat until slightly soft and some moisture has been released. Add Butter, Cinnamon, Rum, Sugar, and Nutmeg and stir until the liquid has reduced into a thickened browned sauce. Take the Apples off the heat and mix with the Egg and Vanilla Extract. Stir in the Gluten Free Pancake Mix. Pour batter into your bunt or cake pan and bake for 35- 40 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Cooking times may vary depending on the type of pan you use. Watch the cake closely and check it frequently. I started the timer at 30 minutes and went closer to 45 before it was ready.

Dust with Cinnamon and Confectioners Sugar or glaze. Serve!!
Cut into slices if desired or eat with a fork in one piece because sometimes sharing is overrated).

Cake? Bread? Apple Cake Bread

We live in Michigan so naturally we had to do the Fall in the Midwest thing and go apple picking. There’s this absolutely lovely orchard that is never on any of the regularly promoted local apple picking destination maps. I like to keep it that way. This little orchard is a drive through- meaning you can drive through the whole orchard, get out when you find a tree that looks good, pick some apples because all of the trees are kept at a height where you can pick from the ground, then you drive on to find more! The kids love this and we love Fall apples.

But why rum? I’ll tell you why. It’s 6am on a Sunday. I have just spent the night getting jabbed, kicked, and whined at by our resident 2 year old. Now, at 6 o’clock on a Sunday morning I am not interested in anything besides coffee. Nevertheless, here comes the 6 year old asking about TV of one kind of another and wakes up Miss 2 year old in the process. Now they are arguing over my tired, corpse-like body and I give up and get out of bed.

The only thing appealing to me while I waited for water to heat up to make coffee was hacking at things with a knife- so I figured it would be smart to stick to the kitchen. I thought everyone would like Apple Bread or Cake or something of the like. So I started chopping and peeling apples. Then there was more arguing. That’s when I thought rum would be good to throw in while the apples cooked. It just seemed appropriate given my mood.

I finished cooking the cake/bread and everyone thought it was great. I thought it even looked decent.

Works great as a dessert with ice cream or as a morning breakfast bread with butter and coffee!