Recipe: Banana Muffins (Refined Sugar-free And Gluten-free)

in #food6 years ago (edited)


I made these muffins for my twin nieces who are 6 years old  and who spent some time with their crazy Auntie and Uncle this week. The muffins were a big hit at breakfast and gave us all a good start to our day, without being excessively loaded with grains and refined sugar.

To make these, you'll need the following ingredients:

Dry Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups of Bob's Red Mill All Purpose Gluten-Free Flour
  • 1/2 cup of sorghum flour
  • 1 tsp of xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp of ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of gluten-free baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp of Pink Himalayan salt 

Directions:

* Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Blend all the dry ingredients in a bowl of food processor or a mixing bowl. Blend well so that all the ingredients are evenly blended and "clump-free". Your blend should look like the photo (below).

Wet Ingredients

  • 4 ripe bananas
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup of maple syrup
  • 1/8th of a cup of ghee (clarified butter)
  • 1/8th of a cup of coconut oil (melted) + 1 tbsp (for generously coating your muffin tin)
  • 1/2 tsp of vanilla bean paste
  • 1/4 tsp of gluten-free baking soda, mixed in a tbsp of water

Directions:

Blend all the wet ingredients in a bowl of a food processor. If you are using a hand-held mixer or stand-mixer, mash the bananas in advance. Blend well until the batter is smooth and the bananas and eggs are well mixed as shown in the photos (below).

If you are using a food processor or a stand-mixer, scrape the sides of your bowl to ensure that all the banana gets incorporated into the batter.

Add your dry ingredients.

Blend well, making sure that the dry ingredients are evenly incorporated.

Pour the batter into an oiled muffin tin.

Bake for an hour, but check them at 45 minutes because oven temperatures can vary. Remove from the oven and let them cool for 15 minutes before you remove them from the tin. Place them on a cooling rack to let them finish cooling.

They should lift right out of your muffin tin in one piece and you won't need a paper liner. 

Serve with your favourite nut butter or jelly and enjoy!

This recipe yields 12 muffins.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...we will be eating our fair-share of bananas along the way. ;)

~ Rebecca Ryan



Sort:  

First I was like she must have put some the oil in them then I was like maybe not :D this looks sooo damn good I’m going to try them out tomorrow for the holidays

Hi @journeyoflife! Great! I hope they turn out for you. ;)

Refined sugars. Oh, no. You are going to kill me. Ha ha
Just kidding. I had plenty of them before you posted this appetizing muffin recipe. I had ice cream and pound cake. Ugh on me........
But, only in a reasonable amount. I am slowly winning the battle.
Too bad I don't have the wonderful foods you are showing here.
Oh, I know. They have some good "greenwise cookies" at the store.
I looked at them today. But the price scares me off. Ha ha

My good ole trusty pound cake is much cheaper. The way I buy it.At least half price or even lower. Reasonable portions Francis. Think small.
Uhhhhhh How do I do that? Ha ha.
Thank you for showing us this good recipe. I will try to get Katie interesting in cooking. She does some now. You know that Pat wouldn't fix anything like what you have shown. She is nottttttttttttttt a kitchen person. She just isn't. She likes steak, bacon, and some fish. She doesn't fix sweets.
Sorry. I'll stop here. Otherwise they could start charging me for bandwidth. Ha
Oh, before I go. This weekend. The cryptos should do well. They have already started if you have looked.
According to our friend though. You can look for far more and an "omg" moment coming soon. If it is OK for me to use such language???
I will tell you soon...............................
Francis

It is ok Francis. It is hard to be patient and wait for the next upward movement in crypto but it's coming.
I purposely tried not to add to much maple syrup because if you use really ripe bananas, they have a higher concentration of natural sugars. Sugar is sugar...too much of it causes problems for most people. We say we have a sweet tooth, but it's more like the bacteria in the gut have a sweet tooth and they manipulate us to want to eat more. Usually if a sweet is made with good quality ingredients, a person and (their mix of gut bacteria) will feel satisfied with a small portion. Such is the case with these muffins. You can eat one and not feel compelled to reach for a second or third straight a way. ;)

It looks easy and delicious. Do you know what another flour can I use instead sorghum flour? Here in Venezuela is difficult to find it. And can I use regular salt instead the Himalayan one? Thank you for share it!!!!

Yes @vadimlasca, you can use coconut flour or add 1/2 cup more of the all purpose flour. I just remembered that I forgot to include xanthan gum in the dry ingredients list. You'll need a tsp of it. If you can't get that, you can leave it out...your muffins will just be a little denser and heavier. Yes you can use sea salt or regular salt.

Thank you so much @rebeccaryan

Wow, you hit these out of the park and I bet they tasted great! I have taken several mental notes on how my next posts should look like, thank you! The last picture that you posted looks amazing!

Thank you @carolina-girl! There are protocols for the amount of detail that your post should contain if you enter a food contest. Your first post was the perfect length and your pictures were thorough. I like to use a food processor quite a bit. This is not an appliance that everyone owns or has a frame of reference for (which is why I included more photos on the "how to" part.) I also like to write a recipe as if I am writing a cook book...you just never know what you might want to do with the material you produce down the road. :)

Yummy! 🤗 I love me some banana muffins! I like just about anything banana, especially banana pudding! Banana nut bread is one of my all time favorites. I can just feel the pounds adding on to my ass as I type this! Good thong yours is healthy, ehh? They look so delicious, you really did a great job here and that last picture looks like it should be in a magazine or sunkin! 😉

Thank you @bluelightbandit! I have actually never made banana pudding before and I think I may try this with eggs and coconut milk. You have given me something to ponder. Don't worry about the pounds. This provides more nutritional density than most muffin recipes do. ;)

Wow! It looks so tasty my friend! I like all the cake of banana! Me also sometimes i have so much bananas at home and i don’t know what i will prepare with them, it’s good idea my dear Rebecca.

Thank you so much for reading and commenting @creativewoman! The skin on the bananas that I used was really black so another day would've meant that they would end up in my compostor. I think you will have a lot of bananas at your disposal once your banana plantation starts producing fruit. ;)

AJ picked your post @rebeccaryan for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

I cannot forget what you have done to my life.Actually ,i am getting hungry gradual by gradual but i said ,let me round up blogging so that i will go and take my dinner.As i click your post i saw a delicious bannana muffin which skyrocketed my body hormones to the extent that i couldn' t wait again before i break the screen of my phone tryingb to take the bannana muffin.i quickly go to dinning room ,now am waiting for my younger sister to serve me food.thanks for sharing,i will try the recipe am so much like the ingredient and the appearance of it after preparing it.

Very appetizing, what a pity that today I decided to take myself on a diet :) But when I try to do the same.

Thank you for sharing these delicious pastries. I hope you will have the opportunity to visit your country to taste its original taste

woww, yummy food. i like your post. you are really best in your other activities.. lovely.Thanks for the recipe
100% upvoted

Hi! @rebeccaryan, i'm here and I see your recent updates on steemit..... thanks for share this recipe with us.

mmm that looks delicious ! Thanks for the recipe , i love bananas :)

Wow the food are looking testify ..

wow so delecious and yummy muffins and thanx to share its recpie in whole details with your cooking hope you and your twin nieces enjoyed it wish you more good and happines with your beloved @rebecca
hope i also will make these muffins

well you are always best in your other activities and also in cooking and this new muffins really look so tasty you make it more exellent and tasty... want to eat it now this time #rebeccaryan

When I saw that you were baking I was going to make a “special cannabis” muffin joke but then I saw it was for your nieces lol. Still looks tasty though!

They look nice and fluffy. I would like to try one. Well done.

So delicious. Looks incredibly appetizing! Great appetizing photos. I have a weakness for this fruit. Banana - my favorite fruit. I will try to cook this. If I succeed, I will show you my result!

These muffins look delicious and they are gluten-free which is even more amazing.
Thanks for sharing @rebeccaryan

Yummy looking muffins! I make something similar with coconut flour, totally banana sweetened. They are divine :) My kids love them too!

Thank you @rebeccaryan for this post! Looks delicious!

Those look delicious!

I might have to try it, but I'll need to pick up some bananas first. I love baking in the wintertime though; it can really take the chill off.

You appear to be making cakes.Thank you for sharing this recipe

Thanks for the information of Banana Muffins food.useful info
Thanks /@rebeccaryan
Have a great dau

Wow... Banana Muffins would be very delicious food I have never eat. Thanks for giving recipe. Nice to decided to share community.

this is a simple but effective technique to make happy of your nieces with this yummy and tasty bamana muffin.

@hebrew,
Wow it's sugar free :O That's great! And looks delicious! I will definitely try this at this weekend!

Cheers~

@rebeccaryan A wonderful place!The meal looks delicious.
I want to go:)

It looks so yummy

Wow super post.i love this its.so many people like this food .and you hit these out of the park and I bet they tasted great! I have taken several mental notes on how my next posts should look like, thank you! The last picture that you posted looks amazing!thanks for sharing this post. Upvote and resteem done now@rebeccaryan

Look at these yummy muffins! I am in fact a big lover of bananas based cakes/muffins, they are just too good!
These with a nice cup of vanilla tea...heaven!

Wow these look amazing! Thanks for posting!!