You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I eat MEAT! (Again)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

For women and children the lack of heme (iron) causes so many health issues. There is plant heme and non heme in animals but this type of iron is difficult for our digestive system to absorb, I had to introduce red meat back into my diet as well and I eat a large amount of bitter dark green leafy veggies. I have fibromyalgia and went vegan for ethical and health reasons. I followed nutrition guidlines and supplemented per medical data as well. I am a very active person! Some of my symptoms abated but my structure, bone and muscle became very week. I was suffering from iron deficiency. I decided to eat like my grandma, no sugar, very little refined grains, no junk foods and healthy animal proteins and fats. I lost 50lbs, fatigue, brittle hair and nails, cognitive fog is gone too! This was early 2000...I'm still doing really well except I started eating more sugar and refine flour, gained weight back and my symptoms started flaring up. Cut out the sugar and flour and lost a lot of weight, I am back on an even keel emotionally and physically!

Thank you for an excellent post!

Sort:  

Exactly, it's a really bad thing that parents are obligating their children to be vegan. It can cause a lot of health issues like your said.
Woah, it should had been a real fight to get the right nutrition for you. It's a good thing that you could get some medical advices, and that you found the right diet. The sugar should be avoided, you're right! I hope your health will be doing well, but you seem to be the kind of person to know what she needs now, as you went through many difficult situations. I bet your learned a lot!

Thank you for the interesting a real feedback.

Greetings!