Rainy Days and Mondays

in #food5 years ago

It's another Monday and since it's the monsoon season in the Philippines, it's been raining every now and then. I had to hang my laundry inside the house to dry. And the 7-10 business days folding time might just be extended. I just think it's much more relaxing to lay on a bed of newly dried clothes than to sort them, iron them and fold them.

I'm not complaining at all, I love the rain. My plants get the most of it, actually. I don't have to water them, they get the shower from mother nature herself. Ain't that amazing? At least that's one of my tasks automatically checked out in my daily to do list. One out of a thousand things I need to do.

And since it's cold and rainy, what much better food to serve your family than a nice bowl of steaming hot soup. Warms the tummy and the soul, right?

sfb2s1sxpt.jpg

Way back when I was still breastfeeding my little one, this is my go to soup as this is very nutritious and because of malunggay and ginger as an ingredient, it is a good galactagogue food. I don't know what this food is called because I just played with the ingredients and I loved it during my breastfeeding days and now, my little one loves it too. It's really very easy to cook which is perfect because rainy days and mondays isn't really a wonderful combination when you want to get a boost for the start of your week.

All you need to do is to boil about 4 or 5 cups of water with sliced tomatoes, ginger and onions in it. Once it's already boiling, add fish, salt (or fish sauce if you prefer) and pepper. Let it simmer for a few minutes until the fish is cooked. You may use whatever fish you like but I usually cook tilapia for this recipe. Once the fish is already cooked, you can lower the heat then add malunggay, camote tops and some more sliced tomatoes. And that's it. You may also sprinkle some malunggay powder if you want to maximize the breastmilk production.

abt7fzdpnve.jpg

I came up with this recipe because I got too fed up with eating mussels and plain malunggay tea. I guess up to now, it is still my go to soup recipe. I'm just glad both my husband and the kiddo liked it. It's nutritious and it's easy to cook. So win-win!

Sort:  

Mukang masarap yang resipe na yan.😊

Malinamnam po at nakakainit naman din talaga ng sikmura lalo na at malakas ang ulan. Hehe

Add lemongrass and ginger to ur malunggay tea, see if u like the taste.

Hmm. I'll try that. So far I only add calamansi and honey just to kill that bitter flavor.

Any dish with Malunggay (Moringa oleifera) will be very nutritious.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is 100% true! That's why I make it a point to sprinkle malunggay powder on every dish I make.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.872 which ranks you at #11933 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 24 places in the last three days (old rank 11957).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 181 contributions, your post is ranked at #117.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server