Two cakes

in #food7 years ago

“Give me your best chocolate cake and an inexpensive cake as well” I told the person at the counter of the bakery shop.

He asked me which flavor I worecite-14rgyvv.pnguld like for the low-cost cake.
“It really doesn’t matter. It will be smeared on a friend’s face. Just make sure it is a white one.”
“Okay. Sure sir.” He said cheerfully.
It was my best friend’s birthday and I wanted it to be very special. I made all the arrangements. We, that is me and three of our friends had decided that the cake was to be cut in the open canteen of his college after which we would head towards a party club and enjoy dance, drinks and much more.
It was all going on quite well. He came well in time and was surprised to see me and our three best friends at the canteen. The five of us used to be as thick as thieves during our school days. We had our cake make up session and the cake cutting ceremony, after which we came out of the college. I realized, as I was leaving that I had left my watch at the table to avoid any accident in that cake chaos.
“You guys stay here, I’ll be back in a minute.” I told them as I headed back in a hurry.
When I reached the table I was surprised to see two really frail kids messing with the cake that we had left as a mess. I could see their skeletal structure right through their skins “Give us some food, or we’ll burst out.”, their bones seemed to be yelling. I stayed there for some time and observed the starved children.

“How many times have I told you not to come here. Now go away.” The worker at the canteen with a broom screamed at them. They started running towards the gate.
“What were you doing over there with the left overs.” I asked them as they came to a halt beside me.
“We were hungry and just wanted something to eat”, they told me in all earnestness. Well, I could see that.
“But if you eat from the left overs you might get sick.” I told them.
“So what?” They asked “Food is food. Even if it ruins our health, even if it proves to be fatal, at least we won’t die on an empty stomach.”
“My gut wrenched. Saliva was trapped in my food pipe. “ The people who celebrate their birthdays, don’t care about the food, but we do. I too wish to celebrate my birthday, with my friends and family, but without this tradition of wasting food.”
“I was moved beyond words. I walked back silently.
Two months later, I found myself at the same bakery. It was the birthday of another one of those five friends. Again, I told the man at the counter to pack two cakes.
Now, whenever I participate in a celebration, I always get two cakes. One for the celebration and the other one for the kids, like those I met outside the canteen.
It is these little encounters with those less privileged than us, that make us realize how lucky we are.
I realize I may not be doing much by getting some hungry kids a little cake every once in a while. I may not be changing the world with this little act. But every now and then, I get to see the innocent smile of a hungry kid, and that makes all the difference in the world, to me.”