Foraging for rose hip along the Rhine River

in #food7 years ago (edited)

While riding my bike along the Rhine River, I found a treasure of rose hip (Rosa canina). Rose hip is the fruit of the wild roses.
poza 1.JPG

I was so happy to find so many rose hip fruits, because they are difficult to find in ordinary grocery stores. So foraging is often your best chance to try these tasty foods.

And of course another advantage of foraged food is that is free.

poza 2.JPG

poza 3.JPG

Fresh rosehip contain a lot of vitamin C. Other beneficial compounds include vitamin A, Vitamin E, B complex as well as minerals like iron, calcium, magnesium, zinc and potassium.

poza 4.JPG

It’s amazing how much free fruits I found, and not so far away from my home.
Here it's a view of the Rhine River...
poza 5.JPG
poza 6.JPG

By gathering these delicious wild fruits with your own hands, you are making a connection with the plant, with nature.
Being able to feed myself with fruits picked by my own hands has made me more aware and in touched with nature, more grounded.

poza 7.JPG

Because the rose hip fruits contain so much vitamin C, they are an amazing way of boosting your immune system. So they are a healthy way to prevent colds or flues, now that the cold season is approaching.
They also contain powerful antioxidants which eliminate and neutralize free radicals from our bodies.

Another great thing about these tiny red fruits is that they prevent stomach irritation and ulcers. So not only that I enjoy eating them, they also help me, as I have always had stomach pains.

Rose hips grow in shrubs and bushes, 1-3 meters and are covered with thorns and long stems, like every rose. The fruits can be picked from July until late September.
Here you can see the thorns of the wild rose.
poza 8.JPG
Luckily I managed to not get stung in them
poza 9.JPG

If you like to eat them raw, as I do, you need to be careful cause they contain lots of tiny hairs.
poza 11.JPG
poza 10.JPG
poza 12.JPG

I think it’s really amazing that you can find nutritious fruits just by simply wandering around.

follow.me.jpg

Sort:  

I have seen these all over the woods and never put it together that it was rose hips. Thanks for posting, I will try this soon.

:) i hope you find ripe ones

Cok kaliteli bilgilendirme tesekkurler emeginize saglik

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sarmizegetusa to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I have never tried one. Do they taste like roses smell?

Hmm...they have a sour taste, and I guess we associate roses with a sweet taste. But I like sour taste, I think it really depends on someones taste

I guess that sour taste is because of all the vitamin c. It seems to make foods tart, like lemons! Good post :)

I think you are right, most of the fruits that have a lot of vitamin C are sour.
Thank you :)

That is so great that you just found these in the wild! So good for you and free! What a deal! Thanks for sharing. I need to look for these sometime. I wonder if they have them in Panama. I'll have to look around! :)

Sweet post and reminded me of my mother, born in 1928, used to go out with her school in Scotland when she was a girl, while Britain had food rationing through World War ll. All the school children were 'employed' in the task of collecting Rosehips from the hedgerows, for the very fact that they were loaded with vitamin C (and nobody wanted these wartime kids to end up with Scurvy, like the British sailors of yore!!). As far as I remember, the Rosehips were then reduced into a syrup for all the children to get their medicinal dose.