Vegetarian Skillet Fried Dumplings

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_7461.JPG

IMG_7457.JPG

When it comes to food I tend to keep it simple but sometimes I enjoy trying new things and playing with recipes especially since my daughter and I follow a plant based diet with an exception of an occasional egg for B12.

B12 is not easily found in plants unless you eat it straight out of the ground, which is what B12 is, microbes and bacteria in the dirt.

This recipe I kinda made up along the way. It has loads of vegetables and sauerkraut, a good source of probiotics.

Start with a medium head of cauliflower and 2 cups of broccoli. Chop it up in pieces like this.

IMG_7433.JPG

Now chop a medium sized onion.

IMG_7437.JPG

Heat up your pan. I used an iron skillet but you can use any big pan of you choice. Add 1 TB of sesame oil to heat up.

Add the cauliflower, brocolli and onion and let it cook for 4 minutes before adding 1 1/2 chopped portobello mushroom and 5 chopped garlic cloves. I know the recipe says 3 but I can never have enough garlic.

IMG_7434.JPG

IMG_7435.JPG

Add 2 TB of soy sauce or Tamari sauce and minced ginger.

Allow it to cook for another 8 minutes until everything is tender the mushrooms have released their water.

Turn it off and let it cool for five minutes.

During this time you could make your peanut sauce which I'll leave the recipe at the bottom. I didn't get time to make since I had to tend to my 16 month old and the new kitten that my hubby @barryachts brought home.

IMG_7427.JPG

IMG_7418.JPG

I grew up with cats but I oddly didn't remember anything about taking care of a kitten and gave him cows milk which I found out from our neighbor that your not suppose to since it gives them diarrhea.

Anyway dinner isn't making itself...

Place the mixture in a processor. I had to do it in 2 batches. if there is water in bottom of pan drain it before processing.

IMG_7441.JPG

Pulse it a couple of times until its a crumbly mixture. You can make it finer but this is what it should look like.

IMG_7443.JPG

Add some well drained and squeezed sauerkraut. I mean this. Make sure you get out most of the water. Add it to the mixture along with 1TB of miso. I use this miso.

IMG_7465.JPG

Stir it up well. You can add pepper and salt to taste if you want.

Now take your egg roll wrappers and cut them diagonally so you have triangles. You can use eggless wontons for a vegan friendly version. I just couldn't find any on island so I went with the next best thing and cut them in half.

Place 1TB to 2 TB (depending on how full you want them and what you can work with) in the center of the wrapper.

IMG_7444.JPG

Wet the edges with water and seal it by pressing the edges and making a small fold like you'd make with Apple dumplings.

IMG_7446.JPG

IMG_7448.JPG

Do this until your filling is done.

Next heat up a clean pan. I used my iron skillet for this again. Add enough oil so you can fry it one side at a time. When it well and hot carefully add your patties.

IMG_7448.JPG

Fry until golden brown and flip to do the same for the other side.

IMG_7449.JPG

Once ready let cool and enjoy with the wonderful peanut sauce or in my case eat them as is since my hubby ate them as soon I as I made them. So I didn't bother just making it for myself.

IMG_7457.JPG

IMG_7461.JPG

IMG_7462.JPG

Fried Vegetarian Dumplings

INGREDIENTS

1 small head cauliflower
2 cups chopped broccoli
I medium onion
3 cloves garlic, minced
1½ cups fresh shitake mushrooms
1 tablespoon sesame oil
2 tablespoons soy sauce or tamari
2 teaspoon minced ginger
1 Tablespoon miso paste, white or yellow
eggless dumpling wrappers
water for sealing dumplings

Easy Peanut Sauce

4 tablespoons peanut butter
4 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2 tablespoons maple syrup
2 teaspoons minced ginger

INSTRUCTIONS

Chop the cauliflower and broccoli into pieces, trimming off the large stems. Chop onions. In a large skillet, heat the sesame oil on medium high. Add the cauliflower, broccoli and onion. sauté for 4 minutes. Stir in the chopped mushroom, chopped garlic and ginger cook for another minute.
Stir to combine. Sauté for another 1-2 minutes then pour the soy sauce over the veggie mixture. Cook for 8-10 minutes until the water from the shitake is released and cooked off.
Remove from heat and let cool for 5 minutes. While the veggies are cooling, combine all ingredients for the Easy Peanut Sauce in a bowl and whisk together until smooth.
Transfer the veggie mixture from the skillet into a large food processor bowl. Pulse for 2-3 minutes for 10 seconds at a time until you reach the desired consistency. You want it to be mostly smooth but not a homogenous paste. (so still a tad chunky)
Place an eggless dumpling wrapper on a lightly floured surface. Spoon one heaping teaspoon into the center of the wrapper and carefully moisten the outer rim of the wrapper. Fold the Vegan Dumpling in half and press the edges together to seal them, making sure to remove all air from the center. Pinch the sealed edges in a visually pleasing fashion (or leave them flat) and cook them in a lightly oiled pan over medium heat for about 2 minutes on each side. Watch them as they tend to brown quickly.
Serve with Easy Peanut Sauce and enjoy!

upvote, resteem and follows are appreciated!

Sort:  

Very nice looking food there.

Also, please check your comment on my game. You replied to someone else's comment, not mine. If you do not change it you will be eliminated.

Oh man I just saw this reply from 3ddays ago. I assume I was eliminated? I replied to the last game though.

Congratulations @silverstring! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @silverstring! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!