Nomnom Experiences - Satellite Sports Café in Amsterdam, The Netherlands

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I had a mini reunion with my former classmates from Bachelor study Communication and Multimedia Design

Before the reunion, a small group (well, me and two others) decided to grab some food first to lay a nice basis for the serious drinking we were planning to do later that night.

We decided to go to Satellite Sports Café. It's more or less a café where people can go for some food, drinks while watching the game of that night. This doesn't sound appealing much if you're not a sports fan, however luckily for all the non sports fans out there, the prices are convenient!

Besides that, the location of this café is pretty obvious and right in front of your face as soon as you reach Leidseplein, which is one of the crowded squares in Amsterdam due to all the bars, restaurants and, yes, cafés.

As you can see, there's a giant banner outside of the restaurant which says: "Spare-ribs unlimited". And that was exactly my plan for dinner.

Due to the concept of sports, they also offer beers through Pitchers. This means that you get a giant pitcher with beer which you can pour yourself. In the end it's cheaper, so I highly recommend this is you're with more than two people.

Just look at this beautiful quantity!

It was time for food. And my heart was set on them juicy spareribs since that day even started. They offer two sauces: barbecue or garlic. I went for barbecue since I didn't want to meet my old schoolmates as a walking vampire repellant. And boy, was that a good choice. The meat was soft and tasted great!

Looking at these pictures again as I am writing this article, makes my tummy growl with greed and I am very much tempted to run back to that place to enjoy another dish of beautiful spareribs. But there is spinach and schnitzel waiting for me tonight......

Anyway, besides spareribs they have an entire menu full with options for burgers, pancakes and more! If you're looking for a cheap place to have a quick bite (service is pretty fast!) in Amsterdam without much sophistication, definitely try this one out.

Also, this is a great place to start your amazing drinking night. And it has been for quite some years before clubbing as they offer 10 Sourz shots for 10 euros. Let's get that party started!

divider

Satellite Sports Café
Leidseplein 11
1017 PS Amsterdam
The Netherlands

http://www.satellitesportscafe.nl


Click on the image to go to Google Maps

!steemitworldmap 52.3640145 lat 4.8833487 long Beers, shots and unlimited spareribs D3SCR

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=sjennon
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=nomnom-experiences-satellite-sports-cafe-in-amsterdam-the-netherlands


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

thanks! i'm flying worldwide as digitalnomad like you, will be in Ams july 2018! but this place isnt for me, smartshops reviews would be nice!

That's awesome! Where are you now? :D

July is a long way to go still, but still awesome. Unfortunately, I do not have much experience with that, but this place is definitely the place to go for munchies. Also, they neighbor a coffee shop if that is more for you :)

i'm/will be in Patagonia Argentina up to July, finishing freelanceprojects.

Oh sweet! Would love to visit South America still.

What is your area of expertise?

Software Developer, Musician, Fungiculture.

a very good post my friend.
How are you today.
I've been waiting for whales to come to my post. When...??

I am doing well today. I don't know when whales will come to your post - ask the whales.

I do not know where to go. i need support from you

Hi @sjennon not sure if you already noticed but spectacles seem to be not working today.
After seeing your pictures I now need to get some food :)

I noticed and communicated it to the developer. I hope it will be fixed soon! Thanks for the heads up :) I appreciate it!

Haa! What food did you get?

I stayed healthy :) just a big salad for dinner.

Salads are good! I like them <3

Normally I only eat salads for dinner ... trying to avoid all heavy carbs like bread in the evening.

That makes sense. Do you have like a more heavy meal during lunch then?

Normal lunch, whatever looks best in our cantine :)

Those ribs look delicious! Perfect combination.

They absolutely were great indeed! I must say that your cooking doesn't look bad either!

I don't know when i will able to visit Amsterdam but if I am blessed to go anytime soon i will definitely need go here! How much was the rib meal itself?!

Amsterdam is great! Feels like you're walking through the 17th century due to the architecture!

The ribs were really soft and tasty! Definitely going there again :D

Those Spare-ribs look awesome! I have noted this place on my "would like to visit someday" list!

Schweeet! If you like meat, there is also a restaurant called Cannibale Royale. Should be amazing - Burgers, steaks, ribs, filets! Haven't gotten the chance to try it out yet, though I would love to visit it.

Those ribs ❤️