What I ate in Mockpo city at first day and the Reason Why you never go to there Alone

in #food6 years ago

Mockpo city is famous for it’s cuisines. Actually the cuisines in southwestern area of Korea has been very famous for it’s various kinds and it’s quality. We named it as Namdo foods which meant Southern food. The name of this area is Jeollado. Each area of this province has it’s characteristics of materials. So sometimes the quarrels would have happened between themselves while discussing on which cuisine is better. Each area has it’s specialty.

P1170343.JPG

Among them, Mockpo is very famous for marine products. When I planned to visit Mockpo, I expected to have a taste of the famous cuisines.

But as soon as arriving at Mockpo, I realized my expectation flied far away. Mockpo is old city, so if you’d like to taste something delicious or famous, they served the food in a pair base. That’s the reason you need to go to Mockpo with your friend. Mockpo is not a place to stop by alone.

Anyway I was hungry and needed to eat something to walk around Mockpo city. I found out well-known public restaurant ‘Doljip’ through googling.

P1170115.JPG

P1170113.JPG

The maid told me they could not serve for only one person, so I promised to pay for 2 persons.
I ordered a simple cuisine of boiled cutlassfish.

It was 2 o’clock when I arrived at the restaurant. Up until that time, some guests were having a late lunch with Maggeoli of the traditional Korean rice wine.

At first they served for me a boiled egg. It seemed like an appetizer.

P1170121.JPG

The boiled fish looked like below.

P1170122.JPG

P1170123.JPG

P1170131.JPG

Lot’s of red papers were put into that cuisine, and I could feel a strong taste of sweet in that.
Usually hot spicy and sweet tastes are going very well together.

One of the reason of the fame in Southern cuisine is due to the amount of side dishes. Many side dishes in Southern Area were famous in Korea. But the age was changing. It is difficult for the restaurant to serve that much side dishes like before.
Among the side dishes, the fermented oyster was my best favorite. Especially the oyster has it’s best taste in winter season.

After lunch, I had walked around Mt. Yudal for several hours. I will post on that nest time. After looking around, I was worry about dinner. How I could enjoy the dinner alone. I found a small restaurant. I entered into the restaurant and ordered the roasted fishes for 2 persons. There was no other way to take a taste the roasted fishes.

P1170327.JPG

Interesting food in this restaurant was a sea shell soup. They served the sea shell soup. As I have posted several times, the most characteristic aspect in Korean cuisines is a soup. The taste of the soup decides every thing of Korean food. Among the soups, the role of the marine products is great. Offered sea shell soup was excellent.

P1170332.JPG

Of course, the roasted fishes were so nice that I had eaten it up as below.

P1170335.JPG

P1170344.JPG

The oysters were also really awesome.

P1170338.JPG

Remember, when you visit the Southern Area in Korea, you need to company with some one.
That is the most important tip in traveling of this area.

This area is not so developed as like Seoul.
It is preserving old style standard yet, so it is inconvenient but it could be a chance to enjoy the real Korea on the other hands.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  
There are 5 pages
Pages

I like eating grilled fish yammmy

Wow, delicious food! Many people would be surprised the first time they hear about a restaurant not serving a single person. You'd better invite someone next time. Cheers!

I am sure your having foodgasm on your feast @slowwalker. Korean soups are some of my favorite dishes to eat. I can finish a pot, all by myself. The one with the black pot on your picture, I'm pretty sure I'm gonna love that one too. One of the many reasons I love it because I can enjoy it year round. My favorite is a mix of fish and shellfish. It adds a lot of flavor and nutrients to your soup.

you are a man of eclectic tastes, @slowwalker, and very adventurous.

You love going new places and experiencing different cuisines.

I must confess I am the exact opposite. I hate travel because it upsets my routine and I'm most comfortable eating familiar food.

I have the same breakfast in winter every day of my life - porridge with chopped cashews, bananas, raisins, honey and milk accompanied by a steaming hot cup of tea.

As I eat my breakfast now it is raining outside - a chill January day with snow on the ground but the feeling of mid-April.

Sitting in my kitchen with a warm meal looking out at a cold damp world comforts me and makes me feel at peace.

You probably never suspect that your adventurous spirit and openness to new experiences is unique, but it is.

You are a man of action. I am a man of thought. We are friends :)

Yes, we are opposite. I love going outside.
Looking new world makes me happy
But sometimes I feel comfort in my home like you.

Very nice food, i never tried this but i have to :D

Looks like a great restaurant to share with good friends!

A lot of food

wow , i would like to taste some sea shell soup :) food.jpg

very good food @slowwalker i like your postang, please visit my blog i am a newcomer in steemit, please help, thank you

Looks like you annihilated that fish. Must have been delicious.

Great explanation)

And about the salt... In Nizhny Novgorod there is a sculpture dedicated to the salt greedy dealers)

do not write back, sorry)

ya hachyu poyehati na Nizhny Novgorod.

Everything was delicious)

It seems like most places in Korea it is best to not go alone. Korea is just a culture of sharing and eating together. That's what I gathered from my 2 times there. The great thing about it is that it almost forces solo travelers like me to make friends and go out together. I love Korea.

Food in Mokpo seems to be cooked to taste the fresh ingredients. I think the fish in the picture can have a savory taste.

Love to see your it look delicious.

as it was a nice weekend😱😘

all food i don't eating. but some food i eat. i think all food is very testy.
nice food photography @slowwalker. Thanks for sharing.

thank you for stopping by

That looks great! Always wanted to try Korean food. Something about it makes it seem great and delicious! Although I've never tried it

Great post! This reminds me of my trip to Jeonju for the film festival some years back. Another city in the region with great food and I'd argue that this is where the famed dolsot bibimbap dish originated from.

That Fish look so yummy!! 👅
BTW Quarrels over food is common here also, recently West Bengal just won the ownership of "Rasgulla" beating Odisha who are also claiming for the ownership 😂

Who even win the ownership, but I'll eat them all!! 👅😉

yes i read everything in that area. .. ??

a suitable place to visit and makpo is a famous place, buddy, do not forget to visit my blog, I always follow you but once there is no support from you please support him, thank you

This food really looks nice.
As a person who loves tasting as many foods as I come across I need to visit

It looks so good I want to try it, but sometime when I can get there. Can you share the recipe ...?

Fantastic post Thank you for sharing

wow!amazing food..travel is very beautiful..this photography very nice..thanks for sharing this post.

I like to eat kimchi of your country
it's very good

Mungkin anda bisa jalan-jalan ke Aceh. Karena tiram di Aceh kualitasnya sangat baik

There is always a first time, for you to know that the food before you is sweet then you must have a taste of it and haven't done that, your judgement over the food will make you to fall in love with the food and the place

good food..i have never tasted.

just look at it I can already feel how delicious the food is, want to taste it I tasted it. if I may know how much do you charge for the food?

All those foods are very mouthwatering @slowwalker! Especially those fishes, they're perfect with hot rice. All those sea foods and spicy foods are very yummy! You should bring me with you next time @slowwalker! Hahaha! By the way, loved your photographs! Thank you for bringing us to your adventure! Always have fun with your travels and keep safe! More power @slowwalker! Cant wait for your next travel and food blogs!

The food is so beautiful, but I have an embarrassing question.
What's the cost of this meal? $$$

I can imagine the battle you were probably having in your head- as so much food was getting brought out and you know it was more than you needed..yet you wanted to seize the opportunity. It looks like you had an awesome experience though. I have also heard good things about the area you were in and it’s cuisine- I’ll have to put it on my bucket list!

Great, delicious food!

good food, interesting posts I will restem your posts, and do not forget to visit my block.

Wow loooks delicious, hope it taste delicious too..

It looks delicious in the pics! Must've tasted great.
I wonder how you managed to eat the second serving also!

Food looks great! I am a fan of marine food (although shrimps, crabs and salmon sashimi would be on the top of my list). I wouldn't mind ordering a pair since I would be able to finish them all. I hope to someday be able to visit this part of Korea. Thank you for sharing a part of this place with us.

hahaha, You win

What a great city and equally gorgeous foods"

Wow food in Mockpo city looks interesting - I am not such a fan of seafood but I may be tempted to try if I ever do visit

So funny!! Last night a few friends of mine went out to a local Korean BBQ place... called "black brick.." It was incredible. I had to bring home the extra food. What's for dessert today?? Yum!!

26265349_140095396660431_466169015799119872_n.jpg

This fish is called "Daiyu" and it is very delicious Fried.

I feel hungry when viewing your post.

thank you for sharing post. I like it very much.

Those foods look so delicious, I would want to try to taste those if given the chance. My daughter want to go to Korea someday I might be able to go with her and will surely visit Mockpo City.

Yes, she will like Mockpo

The recipe looks very delicious thank you for sharing

posting is very useful. please upvote me friend

great korean food, so excellent photography, wonderful place travel, thanks for sharing

Amazing :o

very good cuisine, I really like posting @slowwalker.

@slowwalker The content of your post is marvelous and the pictures selection is awesome, i really like your post and enjoyed alot.
Thanks for sharing and please support me.

There are 5 pages
Pages