Sunday's Best - "Chicken Matosinhos" Braised chicken with mushrooms in port wine sauce 📷>recipe guide<

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians! Today in sunday's best a meal which I have so eaten in the small port town of Matosinhos in Portugal. The taste is authentic cause I get a list of ingredients and how to prepare by the Portuguese chef.



Ingredients for 4 people:


4 chicken legs
50 g white flour
gratet nutmeg
Oil or fat for frying
2-4 cloves of garlic
2 onions or shallots
150g bacon 
200 g of mushrooms
Fresh thyme
50 ml red port wine
300ml chicken broth
Salt, pepper, as required
flour butter for bonding


1. Mix the flour, the grated nutmeg and a teaspoon salt in a bowl. Remove the skin from the chicken legs and divide them in the joint. Roll the legs in the mixture and fry in a pan! Put aside!  




2. Cut the garlic and onions into slices. Peel the mushrooms and quarter them. Fry the bacon cubes in the same pan a the legs slowly crispy, add garlic, onions and mushrooms, briefly steam. Add Thyme port wine and bouillon and the chicken. Braise at medium heat for 60 minutes. For a better bond add some flour butter at the cooking time.











Serve with rice mashed potatoes or baguette and a good red wine!



Sort:  

Another great recipe!! So, you're a fan of portuguese food, hum?! If so...you're totally right!! ;)

Not just the Portuguese: I like the simplicity of the Mediterranean cuisine in general but spain portugal and italy are my favorites. Thank you @liliana.duarte and good luck on SCC 13!

Ahah, ok! I can accept that! ;) Thank you!

Lecker...bei uns gab's heute auch Hühnchen...upvote.Gruß

Hi @germanlifestyle ! Danke fürs's vorbei schauen!

Immer wieder gerne@steved😊...

I am not a foodie, but when I saw Matosinhos, I had to say hi!

I am in Maia, so pretty close.

The end result looks delicious!

A "Olá amigável como você está" por Maia! Obrigado pela sua resposta espontânea @shaunmza !

Looks good, check out my recipes...