You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Japanese Food Experience as Told By a Non-Japanese

in #food6 years ago

Wow, this is one of the best reviews about Japanese food I have seen so far on Steemit!
I am usually skeptical of when non-Japanese people not living in Japan make Japanese food reviews (I live in Nagoya), but am impressed by the depth of your review and comments!

Sort:  

Your comment made me curious about the reviews of other non-Japanese of Jap food, @steventemplar. Enlighten me, please? 😁

Well its mostly about what people think is real Japanese food vs. what they may experience in their home country. I find a lot of Japanese food from other countries may lack real Japanese ingredients which change the taste. For example, what may be used to fry gyoza, or what rice is used for dishes. Japanese rice is definitely the best rice in the world, with Japanika Rice not even close, but close enough compared to other rice strains. When someone in Manila is having a Japanese dish, they are eating Japanika rice, which will change the taste of the whole dish. When people come to Japan and experience real Japanese food, which may taste different from what they are used to back home, their opinions may change.

Thank you for this, @steventemplar. I admit that I wasn't used to the authentic Jap food taste. But it doesn't take a professional foodie to appreciate the preparation of the dishes.