You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @allaboutpastries: Let's Get Up To Date with My Starter! Plus More Interesting Posts I have found on Steemit for you to View.

in #food7 years ago

Following along!! I'm curious, how long do you keep on refreshing this? (adding a bit of flour, etc)?
Love the cherries! And how awesome that you live in Spain!!!

Sort:  

Love the cartoon too. Where do you get them from?
Well, the starter, how long is a piece of string? From scratch it could take2 - 3 days to get any reaction. Then you have to wait for the yeast to be overtaken by bacteria as you want the flavour profile they produce in your starter (bread). Refreshing allows the yeast to rally and overtake bacteria so that your bread is not too strong in flavour, ie, sour. Plus you want the yeast to be active so your bread will rise. You have to wait for the starter to need refreshing before you refresh! I know this sound a little bonkers but it is the flavour that is really important otherwise, why bother, just use dried yeast? As the yeast gets stronger, they use the food up in the flour much quicker and begin to die back. You have to keep an eye on it and just refresh at the stage of separation and alcohol smell. I recon in the heat of Spain, if I wanted, and refreshed frequently, I could have a starter ready to go in 4 - 7 days! I have to hold mine back though because all people do not live in this climate. Hope this clarifies the situation further? Thanks for your interest. X