Freezedried Spaghetti Squash

in #food7 years ago

It has been awhile since I have gotten a freeze dry experience out. I have been on a learning curve with anything I am interested in :) there is a lot to learn out there. The really good thing with my freeze drying adventures, I can do everything else I have to do in a day/week, because after I load the machine, I walk away until it is done! Love it!!
Now for the spaghetti squash. This was actually something my daughter asked my to try for her. Since doing it for her, I've received numerous requests for others, and you can guess what I will be growing a lot of in the garden this year. I tell everyone I know to grow as much as they can, I will make it affordable for them to use the machine, helping us all out. Since cutting the squash length wise, I have heard that you get longer strings, if you cut them width wise (will try). I drizzled olive oil, salt and peppered the squash after cutting in half, and baked for 40 minutes. Then used a roast fork to pull out the strings (saved the seeds for the garden), then into the freeze drier. The first 2 photos are of fresh squash, the third photo being the final freeze dried product. ggl0kPs - Imgur.jpgIG56z7Q - Imgur.jpgZ4Tlg1F - Imgur.jpg
Freeze dried squash is so easy and fast to re-hydrate with hot water. You can make any fabulous meal on the fly, or a quick lunch, there are so many options. My daughter wants some for when they go camping, so easy for her to feed to the family :) See you tomorrow for my next story. I am getting better in the photo department, which definitely slowed me down in the blogging area, but never give up right!?!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @tfhg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Holy crap :) that feels great!