Chocolate Rolls - Hungarian Chocolate Snails (Kakaos Csiga) 🍫🐌🍫🐌

in #food β€’ 6 years ago

TGIF Yipeeee!!! πŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ

Hi friends! Enjoying your Friday? Going out tonight? Netflix and chili con carne? πŸ˜‚

If you remember last weekend we planned to go out of town but then canceled due to snow storm. We finally decided to drive to the other town (3 H away) on Monday and since the road was so bad with hard ice, gravel and strong wind blowing snow, we returned home with a huge crack on our windshield that it needs to be replaced 😫

Anyhoo, the passing week was so eventful for us that this weekend we have vowed to not go anywhere, not even for grocery shopping! Yeah, you guessed right, that car is resting now, waiting for the windshield to be replaced - hence, no plan for no where 😌 My gf did text me, she is flying out to Vancouver tomorrow morning and might drop off her car here, should we have space, so crossing fingers πŸ˜‚

Anyhoo, today I'd like to share you how I made these Chocolate Snails!

1518213863003.jpg

While living in Hungary, I learned the Hungarian style of "cinnamon" rolls is very different to North American, as where ours is soft buns, the Hungarians rolls almost like puff pastry but firmer.

Before going vegan I tried to replicate those Hungarian chocolate rolls - called kakaos csiga - translates to chocolate snails, yes the filling is chocolate (milk) powder rather than cinnamon powder. I could never get the texture, sadly. I tried tons of recipes by Hungarians too in fact, and homemade is just different texture to bakeries, which is odd that ALL bakeries in any parts of the country had the same texture, yet none of homemade by Hungarians could achieve so.

One time I thought it was super close, I was darn happy, but rookie mistake I didn't note down ingredients I used and picture files were just buried in the hard drive, I completely forgotten how to achieve the same texture again 😫

So anyways, I've given up to try to produce the same chocolate snails as Hungarian stores/bakeries πŸ˜‚

Now that am dairy free, egg free living, my chocolate snails are more to North American style rolls, but daaaayuuuuum these are awesome , that I no longer miss those authetic rolls from Hungary πŸ˜‚

Give them a try and see how you like them 😊

1518211375999.jpg

Dough Ingredients

In a bowl, mix and let stand until slimey:

  • 1 tbsp golden flax meal
  • 2 tbsp water

1518212207082.jpg

β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’
On a separate bowl, mix and let stand to bloom:

  • 260 ml lukewarm DF milk
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp active dry yeast

1518212232891.jpg

β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’
On a large bowl, mix:

  • 500 g flour, about 3 1/4 c
  • 5 tbsp icing sugar
  • a pinch of salt

1518212999002.jpg

β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’

  • 1 1/2 tbsp almond essence
  • 160 g vegan margarine, melted

Filling Ingredients

In a bowl, mix:

  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 1/4 c icing sugar
  • 2 heaping tbsp Dutch cocoa powder
  • a teeny pinch cinnamon powder

1518213053362.jpg

β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’β™’

  • 2 heaping tbsp vegan margarine, melted

Additional

  • 8 DF chocolate chips

How To Dough

  • Pour flax egg, yeast, and margarine into flour mixture, knead
  • Cover with cling wrap, let rise for 40 mins in warm area

1518213233764.jpg

1518213293342.jpg

  • Dump dough onto working surface and slice a small portion as shown, wrap the sliced portion and set aside

1518213387415.jpg

  • Lightly knead the big portion, and roll into rectangular.

1518213419643.jpg

  • Brush with melted margarine, sprinkle with cocoa powder mixture, roll and slice

1518213479829.jpg

  • Place rolls on baking tray, these are for the snail shells

1518213519464.jpg

  • Knead a little of the reserved dough and slice into 8 portions. Roll each portion into a rope
  • Attach each rope onto each shell, and you got the body

1518213552691.jpg

  • With a skewer make a hole for eyes and one end of the snail body, and push in chocolate chips. Let rolls rise again for 20-25 mins. Bake snail buns on preheated 350 F for 22 mins

1518213618817.jpg

Ta-daaaaa 🐌🐌🐌🐌

1518211918881.jpg

Have a great weekend everyone! ❀️


Thanks For Looking!



This @bearone's banner, makes my blog looks better πŸ˜‰






Looky, looky, what @enginewitty made me, isn't it a cutie 😊

Sort: Β 

Awesome, yummy snails

Thank you 😊

I want to eat them all at once! yummy..

Help yourself!! More than happy to share 😁

Gorgeous food post, keep these coming!

Many thanks pretty lady!

They are so cute! I'm sure they taste delicious! 😍✨

Thank you! They were! It's been 2 days now, and they are still soft, so all is perfect 😁

Hi! Nice! The only kind of snails that I would ever eat. 🐌
πŸ˜‰ πŸ‘
Cu,
Chris aka smallstepschange

Hey! Thanks mate, I don't think I've ever eaten snail (dishes) before, but I know the French love them, so must not be too bad , but yes, chocolate snails would be best πŸ˜‚

haha 🀣

These look very yummy. I would say I'd try these but I'm lazy so porbably wont lol

Oh come on, don't be so lazy, record it and upload it, just like one of your games πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

πŸ˜‰

Haha you're right I am lazy . Although I couldn't record since I record my games using a capture, I don't have a camera. But I will have to try these the kids would love em 😁

Make me hungry in the morning Mba @thekitchenfairy.
😁

Gimana aftermath Dari gempa Taiwan? Semoga selalu dalam lindungan-Nya. Aamiin

Yum (choobot)

❀️

Belum lagi memakannya. Membayangkan saja sudah sangat membuat ketagihan.

Cobain deh bang, empuk Ini rotinya

Musti cari bini baru ni, buat nyobain ni resep.. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

Found you through #thealliance chat just now. Got a new follower and a new fan of your awesome food posts. Thanks for putting all the work in to create good content :)

Hey!!! Followed you back, obviously!

Thanks, that's very kind of you❀️

You really put your heart into your posts! I love it :)

I do, Bug!

Now the question is how to make it end up on trending posts πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

That's a case for the FBI, I guess πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

You'll need more than the FBI when two word trash trends LOL

Ikr

Crazy

Cest la vie πŸ˜‚