Gingerbread House Decorating Party

in #food4 years ago

Hi There Friends,

What do you usually do after Christmas while waiting for NYE? Seems like people do not know what to do, especially on Twitter 😁

I let my boys stay up a little late, for this one week, then come January 1st, they go back to their routine, so when school starts a couple of days after, it won't be a shocker to their body and brain - which would be followed with "I cannot open my eyes" 🤣

But yeah, during the day, I do not really know what to do, especially this year, as I am a finger less, my husband does most of the house chores, while I nap a lot more than before 🤣

This year there is not much snow, in fact today is 5 C! So we have not build a new igloo nor playing outside in the snow. Meanwhile on the news you see California is snowing big time, wowzer. Weather is playing tricks on all of us, hey.

Anyhoo.

A couple of weeks ago, I had a gingerbread house decorating party for the littles (ranging from 5 to 9 years of age). It was part of my then 5 yo's birthday party.

We had too much fun, I KID you not (see what I did there? 😉).

The older boys preferred to eat theirs right away, unlike the younger ones, who would rather be artists instead 😁

I did not prepare big size of houses, but rather mini ones, because 9 houses would be just too tiring to prepare should they were regular sizes, am a lazy mom, you know 🤣

Here is the recipe for the house pieces

  • 2 flax eggs
  • 3 1/4 c flour
  • 1/2 c molasses
  • 1 tsp BSoda
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp each ginger powder, cinnamon powder, all spice powder
  • 1/2 c palm sugar
  • 8 tbsp vegetable shortening

Method

  • Mix dry ingredients
  • Cream shortening and brown sugar
  • Beat in molasses and flax egg
  • Add in dry mix a little at a time
  • Knead a little, roll flat, cut
  • Bake for 5 mins on 350 F, convection oven
  • Cool on rack completely

For the icing, you can prepare royal icing or even use store bought tubed icing, easier!

For the decorations, we used up some of the Halloween candies and chocolates the boys got, and I also got some M n M's and cookies.

Should you like to have decorating party for kids, be prepared with messy table, floor, and excitement chatters that include with shrieks, screams, and also quarrels of "it's mine", "dip", and "I saw it 1st" 🤣

But yep, this kind of party is one kind of party that is enjoyable not just for kids and adults, but also for both boys and girls. So, SCORE 😉

Seriously, I was nervous the older kids would not enjoy it because you know, some would think decorating sweets is just too girly :P It is not easy having a Winter birthday party you know, stuck inside the house :P But phew, I certainly invited the perfect kids, they were total fun :D

Thanks for reading!



Vote Witnesses!


https://steemit.com/~witnesses
OR
https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=thekitchenfairy&approve=true



If you leave ANY link on my blog, I WILL flag you down. This is to avoid phishing and shits
Sort:  

That one with the pumpkin heads is great!!! Like nightmare before Christmas. 😍

it was the theme for the birthday, Nightmare Before Christmas :D

That is perfect!

It looks like so much fun!!!! It looks amazing but my favorite is there proud and happy faces:)

indeed. i did take pics of the kids with their houses. their happy faces are the best for sure :)

Yes I know how twitter feels with the 27-30th "zombie days". It is nice not to have to wake up for the day job and more studio time for me! Looks like you have made the most of it with the gingerbread neighbourhood here!

I'd definitely be the kid shouting "mine, all mine" Nom Nom Nom 😂

have fun in the studio!

That goes without saying haha! Thank you 😁

Ha! Great thing for the kids to work on. Just finished my gingerbread house with my son... he's off from Uni over the holidays - lol, never gets old. Good snacks on NYE.

i am hoping my boys would still like to decorate with me even when they are in Uni (too) :)

Did you say Foodie? Foodie is in town!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated by @jasonbu on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on https://foodiesunite.net and claim your tokens.

foodiesunite_small.png

I love the jack-o-lanterns on the houses! I like to save up some Halloween candy too to decorate gingerbread houses with. If I can save it, that is. It's kinda tasty.

i could not find any that would fit to Jack Skellington, glad for those jack on lanterns :D

Wish I can fly over there now!

Nak ikut!

you and @joelai, hurry, hop on airplane!

my house is your house! xx

Ah, airplanes all FULL!!!

Ooo.. I love Gingerbreadman..
Esp when I get to decorate it however I want.
OMG!! I'm like a kid again :)

:D

i hope next year you will get to decorate with your fam back in Malaysia!

I haven't stopped having stuff to do XD That looks like a fun activity :D