You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What if Whole World Went Vegetarian? Wait! Is it even Possible?

in #food7 years ago

I havent forgotten that, I actually am decently informed on the cattle industry and what it takes to keep that going. However, I have no idea what it would take to cultivate plant based food for the entire world population, hence my question

Sort:  

I'm certainly not an expert on this subject, but as a vegetarian articles on such topics often catch my attention. For example:

Meat production requires a much higher amount of water than vegetables. IME state that to produce 1kg of meat requires between 5,000 and 20,000 litres of water whereas to produce 1kg of wheat requires between 500 and 4,000 litres of water. source

Here's an interesting site that measures water requirements for a number of foods.
http://waterfootprint.org/en/resources/interactive-tools/product-gallery/

Examples:

However, nowadays I bet there are statistics to prove point about any opinion a person wants to defend. I am not claiming to be right on the subject of meat's impact on water consumption, water pollution, and global warming.

For me personally I get by fine without meat, but I'm cool with each person simply deciding if meat is right for him or her. It's been a very long time, but I do remember how good a crisp slice of bacon tastes ;-)

Thank you for informing me a bit, it does indeed seem it would be better to switch to a vegetarian diet, in terms of footprints and depletion of our resources anyway. As you said, there are so many researches and opinions that there are pros and cons everywhere.