How to make an epic VEGAN CHEESE platter (GF, DF with RECIPES!)

in #food6 years ago

Ok so before I get into how to make each component here's a breakdown of what's actually in this beast of a platter: garlic and rosemary baked camembert, garlic and chive cream cheese, GF garlic bread, beetroot hummus, hemp tzatziki, fresh fruits, carrot and cucumber sticks and GF rice crackers.

I made this for Christmas as it was the easiest to accommodate everyone's diets with some of us being vegan and others being gluten free (the hardest combo I know). It was a hit and I promise everyone will be impressed if you bring this to a party! The benefit of it being so colourful and pretty is that non-vegans will be drawn in and will taste everything too. Find the breakdown of recipes below and assemble platter using my picture as a guideline! Get creative and have fun!

Baked Camembert and Cream Cheese

I cannot take any credit for making these two recipes because the amazing lady behind Kind State of Mind on Instagram developed them and they were faultless. Also without her I would have had no idea where to even start with Vegan Cheeses! Find the link to make the baked camembert here and the cream cheese here. If you have to choose out of the two I highly recommend you try the baked camembert because it is absolutely amazing! I think I have made it about 5 times now and it never fails to surprise me with how similar it is to real cheese.

Hemp Tzatziki

Blend:
1 cup hemp hearts
2 tbs tahini
1/3 cup lemon juice
3 garlic cloves
4 tbs water
1 tbs each of finely chopped dill, parsley and mint
1 lebanese cucumber
2 tsp apple cider vinegar
Salt to taste

Beetroot Hummus

Blend:
1 can of chickpeas, drained (400 g)
1 clove garlic
125 g baby beets + 1 tbs of the juice (Roasted beetroot with some garlic salt and mixed herbs goes really well in this recipe but you don't have to roast them if you don't have the time!)
1/3 cup lemon juice (about 3-4 lemons)
1 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 cup oil for a thick consistency. Add 1 tbs for smoother consistency.
2 tbs tahini

Garlic Bread


Ingredients:
1 tbs butter, melted
1 tbs parsley
1 clove garlic, minced
4 slices GF bread
(optional: sprinkle vegan cheese on top for some melty cheesey garlic bread yummm)

Simply mix butter, parsley and garlic together and spread on bread. Toast in grill at 220 c until brown. Cut into soldiers.

Disclaimer: All food photos are my own creations

If you like what you see here please follow me on my Instagram account for more food photos and to watch my daily life through my stories!

Coming soon: Vegan Eats Guide for Melbourne

xx Ana

Sort:  

That looks amazing and it bet it was delicious. Imagine if the whole world was Vegan how beautiful all food would look and taste. Lovely photos too!

How beautiful the world would be as well! Thank you!

I absolutely love this idea! So much so that I featured it in my weekly roundup of Steemit recipes! 🔥

I especially love that this can be eaten by anyone and is perfect for a party I have been planning. Thank you for sharing this @thetinykitchen 🌱

Thank you so much for sharing! Let me know how it goes for your party!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 03:01:43
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 27.50/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That platter looks SO GOOD. I'm happy that vegan cheese has come quite a long way in the past few year but I've never really made it myself. The way you talk up this one though, makes me think I should try.

Thank you! The vegan cheese options that are available in Australia are insane but they can get quite expensive. Give botanical cuisines feta a go if you've never tried them! Honestly amazing.

The camembert is so easy to make it's almost a joke haha. Literally blending cashews tapioca flour and nutritional yeast and heating it up basically. Sooo good and creamy though! Do it!

I need to buy a vitamix (or something) first. I sold my old one when I left Australia.

I wish I had a vitamix. I'm only in NZ temporarily so I got a cheap one from Kmart but its as strong as a Ninja just less options.

What time is party? What is the Addy? ;)

Haha! All the way in New Zealand

That sure is one beasty platter :) Loved all the different colors. This really shows that everything can be made vegan :)

Thank you! I love trying to include a rainbow in my foods! And yes everything most certainly can be made vegan and I aim to conquer them all!

It sure looks amazing :)

Absolutely love this 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Thank you! Thank you for sharing it!

how tasty is everything

So delicious! Everything tastes better homemade!

Just wow. Can't wait to try the hemp tzatziki.

Omg I would do anything for this amazing platter! I just adore it and really think this is the best vegan cheese platter I have seen so far!!!!

Aww thank you that is so nice of you to say! Hope you have a lovely day!