Apple & blackberry schlumpf

in #food6 years ago

IMG_6317.jpg

I was cleaning out my freezer and I found the last of some of last summer's blackberries buried at the back. A little sad and freezer burned, but still just about salvageable. The perfect opportunity to try the schlumpf from the excellent cookbook A New Way to Dinner
that I have been wanting to make since I got the book.

It's just like a fruit crumble but with an amazing fruit to topping ratio of about 1:1. So you get to really maximize on all that toasty, cinnamonny crumb goodness. Plus schlumpf is way more fun to say. You can switch out the fruit, add nuts to the topping - the variations are endless. I threw my sad blackberries in with some granny smith apples and a bit more sad freezer fruit, a little syrup poached quince I found hiding under the blackberries. Whatever you have hiding out in there will be immensely improved by inclusion in a schlumpf. And it will assuage your guilt over having let them get lost for months in the freezer.

IMG_6303.jpg

apple & blackberry schlumpf:

adapted from A New Way to Dinner

topping:

2 cups flour
1 cup + 2 tbs butter, cut into cubes
1 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup rolled oats
1 tsp cinnamon
Blitz everything but oats in a food processor until will combined and beginning to form sandy looking clumps. Add oats and pulse the food processor a couple more times.

filling:

6 cups sliced apples
2 cups blackberries
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
Toss all ingredients in a large bowl until fruit is well coated.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Spread fruit in a quarter bun pan. Sprinkle the topping over the fruit, breaking up any too-big clumps into pea sized bits. Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until the topping is golden and the fruit is bubbling up from below.

Serve with a little cream or ice cream.

IMG_6287.jpg

Thanks for checking out my post! If you want to see more of my recipes, follow me here and check out theverdigris.ca


static1.squarespace.png

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://www.theverdigris.ca/blog/2018/01/14/apple-blackberry-schlumpf

Looks delicious! I love the crumb topping, yumm

great post I love to see her in her post again multiply, keep working, good luck # and help me# follo me @madimancity