Caprese Chicken

in #food6 years ago

TGIF Steemians!!! How is everyone today? I am going to share with you a dinner I made for my husband this past Valentine’s Day! He LOVED it, and wanted it again last night, haha. Thanks for your support @procaptainjoe

First I used ONE chicken breast, sliced in half down the middle (by @procaptainjoe because I cannot stand raw chicken)

I seasoned the chicken with the following spices:
Oregano
Basil
Salt
Pepper
Garlic Powder

I placed the chicken in the oven at 425 degrees and cooked for 25 minutes.

While the chicken was cooking in the oven, I started my tomato & onion salad, with mozzarella cheese.

In a large bowl:

3 cubed tomatoes
Cubed block of fresh mozzarella cheese
Fresh basil leaves
1 cup chopped PURPLE onion (other onions just don’t work)
1 or 2 chopped FRESH jalapeño peppers

*I don’t measure the following ingredients, I go by taste (cue the Italian in me!)

Basil
Oregano
Red wine vinegar
Olive oil
Salt
Pepper
Garlic powder

885425B4-29AB-425F-ACAE-D0D6F383E375.jpeg

After the chicken is done cooking, I place the oven on the “broil” setting.
I then put two slices of tomatoes and mozzarella cheese on top of the chicken.
Broil this for about 5 minutes or until cheese is melting.

891262EB-A1AD-4E12-949B-4CA3A649C017.jpeg

Voila, you have an amazing dinner! SUPER tasty, super easy, and a crowd pleaser :)

Please let me know what you think, or if you have any recipes of your own! I love to learn more!

photos from google.com
I need to start taking pictures of my own food