Chicken in the crockpot

in #food6 years ago (edited)

The crockpot is quite a useful kitchen appliance.
Today, I'm going to tell you the best way I have found to cook a whole chicken in the crockpot.

your chicken

First, you will need a fresh, not frozen chicken. Frozen will take a lot longer to cook or you will have to thaw it out completely first.

Get some spices ready.

I like to use onion and garlic powder as well as some paprika. you can put whatever you think will taste good on your chicken.

Mix the spices

Mix all the spices into a small bowl. Only put about a teaspoon of each in there. Don't overdo it or the flavor will be too strong on whatever you put too much of. Mix the spices together well. It should start to smell very good in your kitchen!

Brush the spices

What i like to do is take a pastry brush, but you can use a spatula if you feel it will work better. I use the pastry brush because it makes it easier to brush the chicken.
Get your bird ready in the usual way. I don't ever cook any of the insides as I don't feel they are edible. Some people do, so you can do it however you wish. I just throw the baggie away though.
Take your pastry brush and brush the skin and underneath the skin on the meat. Coat it well. Sometimes this part can be a bit messy if you spill some of the spices. Use as much of it as you can.

Put it in

put your chicken in the crockpot. I put it breast up most of the time, but sometimes i put it the other way. I'm not sure what the proper way to put it in is, but both ways have worked for me.
Put about 2 cups of water in the pot, plug it in, and put it on low. cook it for 9 hours exactly.

Notes:

I use a 7 qt pot which fits the chicken quite well.
Check your liquid every so often to make sure it hasn't cooked down. You don't want to do that or the meat will dry out, so add a little more water if it has cooked down. After the chicken is finished cooking, it should literally fall off the bone.
Go ahead and try this and let me know how it goes in the comments.