Lacto-Fermented Soda Using Whey Part 1: How To Make It

in #food6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3150.jpg

I love fizzy drinks! The problem is most of them are filled with preservatives and unknown ingredients that don't belong in our bodies. We've started making our own healthier beverages and fortunately there are so many to choose from: Kombucha, water keifer, milk keifer, kvass and many others. With all this in mind, I've recently discovered some great new recipes that have me giddy with excitement.

I have to share this with you because it's so EASY to do!

I've been working my way through the book "The Wildcrafting Brewer" by Pascal Baudar and I've read it from cover to cover. The recipes, the photos, the explanations are all really exciting and doable. The book covers things like: primitive beers, country wines, herbal meads, natural sodas, fruit kvass, Ethnic Drinks, Medieval brews and so much more!

IMG_3129.JPG

I decided to start with a easy sounding recipe for Lacto-Fermented Soda. I was thrilled to discover that you can use fruit juice or a variety of fresh fruits/lemons and/or herbs to make this soda. All you need to achieve a ferment is a bit of sugar or honey and a cup of whey. You can purchase plain yoghurt with live cultures and strain it. You can use the left over yoghurt to make yoghurt cheese!

Here is the Yoghurt and whey separating

IMG_3134_01.jpg

Here are my sodas

There's quite a bit of creative freedom in what ingredients you use to flavour your juice. Don't feel beholden to a specific recipe - use what you have.

IMG_3146.jpg

1. Pomegranate juice (equivalent of 6 pomegranates) diluted with purified water to top up the jar.

2. Lemons & a handful blackberries (It's all I've got fresh - the blackberries were from the garden and frozen).

The basic directions. It's crazy simple.

Combine the fruit & herbs, purified water or juice (6-7 cups), sugar (1 cup) and whey (1/2 cup) and refrigerate for a day to let the flavours infuse. You can use any type of jar but make sure that you don't store it air tight as the gasses need to escape. Strain the solids out and pour the juice into flip top bottles or plastic beverage bottles. Sore in a dark, room temperature location checking daily until you are happy with the ferment. Fermentation can take 2-7 days. Once it's ready, refrigerate and drink within a week.

Word of warning

I've had exploding flip top bottles before when I forgot about a batch of ginger beer that was fermenting and it's sort of dangerous (especially when not all the glass bottles have detonated). You might want to use recycled juice and soda bottles instead if you are worried.

Where To Find The Book

If you can't find this book at a local library most major books stores should carry it. You can find the book here (Amazon link).

I'll share the bottling, fermenting and finished product with fizz ass soon as that happens (or the misfortune of failure) either way I promise to share how this first recipe goes!


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

I love fermented sodas. they are so good! We usually make a ginger-turmeric soda but these sound amazing too. Will give them a try! Bookmarked.

ginger and turmeric sounds like my kind of soda! I am going to have to try that!

Let us know how it tastes! I'm a big ginger beer/ale drinker but am not a fan of yeasty types (think Vernor's). I haven't seen sodas made with whey before!

I sure will! I LOVE ginger beer. The spicier the better. :) I don't have any ginger right now but when I am next in town I'll pick some up and give it a try with this recipes. Have you made a ginger bug before? That's what I used to make my exploding ginger beer bottles. I haven't tried it again since but it carbonates well (lol).

LOL! No, I haven't.

It's like ginger, sugar (or honey) and purified water that you ferment. You can use it as a wild yeast to make fermented beverages. I was thinking that would probably not be yeasty tasting.

That The Wildcrafting Brewer book looks very interesting. And I've found it on Amazon UK.

That's awesome! So glad you found it. Pascal Baudar posts often on a facebook group called Wild Fermentation Uncensored one of the few reasons I have to go on facebook. His recipes have really opened my eyes to a whole new world of wild foods and beverages.

I drink kefir every day. The fermented soda looks very tempting.

Wow, this looks yummy and pretty easy to make!

Thank you for sharing your knowledge! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. Your post is helping people learn to survive and thrive now and in the future!

Congratulations! Your article has been linked and featured in the most recent Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thank you for the great content and have a wonderful Sunday!

Why does one need to seperate a yogurt?is this what provides the fizz. Ive heard of this keifer before but still not tried it.

This recipe uses whey for the fermet. You just layer a strainer with cheesecloth and let the whey (the liquid) drip into the bowl. Once separated it should keep for a bout a week in the fridge (if you don't have time to use it all).

Ahhh I see!!! I'm new this whey business! I need to do some research = D

This looks awesome! Thanks for sharing! It will also give me a use for the whey I am left with after making homemade goat milk frozen yogurt!

Wow! home-made goat milk frozen yoghurt sounds delicious! :)