Classic Spanish Omelette - from the Cooking Witness

in #food6 years ago

About this dish

Generally called "tortilla de patatas" ( potatoes omelette ), this was and still is one of the basic foundations of our weekly menu, particularly loved by the kids. You can eat it either warm, right after preparing it, or as a cold, straight out from the refrigerator.
20180131_182621.jpg
Here in the picture, it's lighter than usual (it should be slightly darker, like in the middle), because my wife was rushing me to get it out of the pan :-) It was no less tasty nevertheless.

Ingredients - for 6 to 8 servings

For the basic tortilla that I'm preparing here, we will need:

  • 5 big potatoes
  • 2 big onions
  • 5 to 6 eggs depending on size
  • some olive oil
    20180131_164323.jpg
    Here in the picture, I used four onions because they were quite small.

Instructions

  • Slice the potatoes like when preparing fries, then cut small cubes 1 to 1.5 cm wide, like in the picture:
    20180131_164457.jpg
  • Thinly slice the onions, then mix them, in a big bowl, with the potato cubes we prepared previously
  • At this point add some salt, then mix them thoroughly, by hand. This dish really likes salt, I therefore indulge it with gray Atlantic salt.
  • Put some olive oil in a frying pan, at slightly over mid-power (I like to set it to 6 out of 9) , then pour the mixture when the oil is warm, then cover. Mix it from time to time, it shouldn't be grilled or completely cooked.
    20180131_170011.jpg
  • While the potatoes and onions are cooking, beat the eggs, then add some salt and pepper.
    At this point, you can add to the eggs, if you wish, some pastrama, cold cut or sausage, or even some cooked chicken. Here i am not adding anything and cooking the basic version.
  • When the potatoes in the potatoes-onions mixture are soft and edible, take then out of the pan, and pour into the beaten eggs, while gently mixing the whole thing. Be careful to pour as less olive oil as possible into the eggs, it should look like in the picture:
    20180131_175323.jpg
  • Dispose the remaining olive oil from the pan, leave just a thin layer for cooking. Increase the fire to the maximum for 30 seconds, then pour the mixture into the pan, arrange it evenly so the eggs cover everything, then turn the fire down to 1/2 ( I use 4 out of 9 ), then cover.
  • After more or less 15 minutes (check if the top part is not too liquid), you need to turn it over. Just remove the cover, put an upside-down plate on top of the pan, turn it over so the whole thing is now on the plate, then slide it back from the plate to the pan. At this point, you understand how important is a non-stick cooking pan. Here it is after I turned it over.
    20180131_180852.jpg
  • Cover it back, then leave it cooking for an additional five minutes, and voila!

You can serve it with mayonnaise, or with salad where the tortilla gets the flavors from the vinaigrette sauce.

What's with the "Cooking Witness" ?

I intend to post about technical/programming stuff, cryptocurrencies, my life, my experiences, my hobbies, and cooking as well! I am also a steemit witness for a few months already, and i also run a steemit seed node. So, here is proof witnesses know how to cook :-)
So, for everyone reading this post, if you still have available witness votes, would you please consider voting for me as witness, and help me further support the great platform that steemit is.

Please go to the https://steemit.com/~witnesses page, roll down to the bottom of the list, type windforce in the box and click Vote.

Sort:  

I've just fallen in love this looks delicious. Sorry my vote won't count as over the 7 days. Will look out for more from you :)

No problem. This dish is a 100% success with adults and kids alike, served warm or cold.

This looks amazing @windforce! I’m trying it :) From one optimist cook to another.

Yeah this one is really one of my kitchen's pillars :-)
This weekend i'll take pictures of whatever i'm cooking and create a new post about it, hope you'll like it.
Since you have my discord, feel free to call me should you need any tips while cooking the tortilla :-)