Instant Pot Recipe: Ridiculously Moist Meatloaf

in #food6 years ago

InstantPotMeatloaf.JPG

If you like really moist meatloaf, this is for you. If you prefer your meatloaf on the dryer side, or a little chewy, stick with the oven.

What you'll need:

Ingredients for loaf:
2 pounds 93% ground beef
1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
3/4 cup diced onion
1 egg
1 tablespoon minced garlic
2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Ingredients for sauce:
1 tablespoon any high heat cooking oil
1/2 cup diced onion
1 cup ketchup
1/2 cup beef stock or broth

Step 1:
Combine loaf ingredients into mixing bowl and hand mix thoroughly. Shape into rounded loaf.

Step 2:
Remove Instant Pot lid, set Instant Pot to "sauté".

Step 3:
Add oil and onions. Stir for 5 minutes to prevent sticking to the bottom.

Step 4:
Finish off the sauce ingredients by adding in the ketchup and beef stock.

Step 5:
Lock Instant Pot lid. Set pressure to "High". Set timer to 15.

Step 6:
Let Instant Pot pressure release naturally. Should take another 15-20 minutes, or you can quick release after 10 minutes.

Step 7:
Top with sauce from the bottom of the pot.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

I love my new Insta-Pot. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

I've used mine constantly since I got it a few years ago. Although admittedly, nowadays I mostly use it to steam chicken breasts, which it is also great for. Since I prefer my meatloaf really dry I rarely eat this one, but it's been a hit with others. So far I think the Instant Pot's strongest dish is a soup or stew.

I'll just leave this right here:

Moist.

To the point of near comical absurdity.

The wife just made a bacon encrusted meatloaf yesterday. Just had leftovers today. I have a soft spot for moist meatloaf right now.

I have to confess, I like to get my meatloaf from our local grocery store deli... a few hours after they close. The ketchup has the texture of dried glue, and the meatloaf itself is like shoe leather. You can eat it without utensils and your hands are still completely dry and clean.

I suspect it is a diagnosable condition similar to those people who eat laundry detergent.

I hope people who work at our grocer never see this. They might be cross with you.