Leaves of Beautiful Flowers for Dinner

in #foodie3 years ago

kenikir.jpg

I have this yellow flower plants in my front yard. I don't know what it is called in English, but in our language it's called kenikir.

I searched online and found out that the flower is called cosmos. It has bright yellow or orange flowers, just like the marigold color. I also found out that their leaves are also consumed because they are beneficial to health. Well, I had learnt from my childhood that I could their leaves as vegetables.

kenikir_12.jpg

The flower plants grow very easily. I don't have to maintain them in a special way. I don't even have to water them everyday.

kenikir_11.jpg

I have few plants that I planted them in the same area in my garden. Now they have grown into a "bush." From time to time, I prune their leaves.

kenikir_3.jpg

kenikir_7.jpg

I cut the leaves with a scissor. Only the leaves on the top of the plants, because I could get younger leaves.

kenikir_8.jpg

Next, I brought the leaves to my house kitchen. My wife washed them and boiled them in hot water. She also prepared "sambal" or sauce from various spices.

kenikir_9.jpg

kenikir_10.jpg

And so, the kenikir leaves was ready to eat with spicy sambal. Bon appetite. Have you ever tried kenikir as vegetables? I don't mind you share your recipe to me.